The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

The FirebirdThe Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First of all, I would like to preface this review by saying that I really love the other work of this author. She is a tremendous talent. That being said, this was not my favourite book by her. It certainly wasn’t a bad book, just not as fast paced as I had hoped.

The characters are interesting and unique, and how they get to be where they are and make the connections they make throughout the story are very well written and original designs of this author. Still, the book did not progress fast enough to keep me desperate to turn the page.

The plot is good and there is certainly some amazing parts of this story that are worth reading, quoting and enjoying. I really liked the main character as well. She is the kind of person that is quirky enough for you to not get bored with and innocent and likable enough that you want to see her succeed.

For those who enjoy a thoughtful book that requires some concentration, this would be a good choice. I can’t say that I absolutely loved this book, but I am happy to have read it. “The Firebird” does definitely reinforce that Susanna Kearsley is an author that creates unforgettable characters.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher.

***

This is the Shereads monthly selection for July. Please go check out this wonderful network of great bloggers and see all the amazing things they do for women, authors, and the world in general. Support Literacy and go have fun at Shereads

7 thoughts on “The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

  1. Thanks for this review! I LOVE Susannah Kearsley, so I’m glad to know not to expect toooo much from this book. But thanks for reminding me that it’s out!

    And I may sound very old and old-fashioned, but I’m so grateful that SK can and does write romantic fiction without the trite sex that usually goes with the genre. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Firebird - Audible Best Sellers : June 2013My Shopping Company

Talk to me!

