True Love by Jude Deveraux

True LoveTrue Love by Jude Deveraux

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I first started reading this book, I had a difficult time focusing on it. It may have been that I don’t know the first thing about architecture and the first few chapters are heavily laden with information about buildings and designs. Regardless, by the third chapter I felt this book had really begun to take off. The two girls that come to Nantucket were well developed and interesting characters that it was easy to care for. The dialogue between them is well thought out and perfectly executed. I got a kick out of the first meeting between Jared and Alix and thought their relationship was wonderfully written. I love that this author never reveals too much too soon and keeps you waiting anxiously to find out what will happen in her stories.

I liked the other stories that were being told in this novel as aside stories and thought they added quite a bit of depth to this book. Every time a new chapter came about I was excited to see where the author would go with it. The pacing in this novel was really good. Even long after I should have gone to bed I wanted to keep reading, and first thing in the morning I picked the book up again and continued.

My favorite character was Caleb, and I really liked the way the author tied up his story at the end of the book so neatly. This is the kind of romance novel that made me decide to read romance in the first place.

As an added bonus, some of the families mentioned in previous Jude Deveraux books have made their appearance in this book, so for those of you who are familiar with her other books, this will feel a lot like returning home.

The setting, as always, is beautifully described and makes you want to go there for a vacation and forget to come home. I was really impressed with this book as a whole and I would definitely recommend it to others.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher.

13 thoughts on “True Love by Jude Deveraux

Talk to me!

