Of biblical proportions

Waterscapes 187

If I had to choose something about Nevada that I don’t entirely hate, it would be that other than heat and wildfires, there isn’t much to worry about weather wise. Until yesterday.

Yesterday afternoon there was a superstorm. Buckets of rain dumped, huge hail battered the land.

 

My house flooded. My mum’s house flooded. Animals suffered the worst. Structures were damaged. Flooring installation now just a futile memory of success. Car windshield gone.

This was unexpected and messy. So, I may not be around much for a little while, but will do my best to keep up. I may actually be around more, now that I think about it. I need an escape.

So begins the battle with insurance and so on.

Bad news: Another storm is heading this way.

I will update as I have power to do so.

 

I would like to take a moment to thank everyone who sent me well wishes and helped me through my rough time last night.

Charles, From the bottom of my heart I appreciate your never ending hope and the positive thoughts you send my way. You will always be my very best friend.

Bradley

Thank you for cheering me last night and cracking jokes as always to make me smile and feel better about things. By the way, that was a hell of a fireworks display! Wish I could have seen it first hand. Ours was much smaller, but still pretty good.

Julian

I would have been lost without your help and support and all of the excellent ideas you bring to the table. Thank you for everything you do on a daily basis to make me smile and feel better about all the crap that happens. You are amazing, in the best sense of the word.

110 thoughts on “Of biblical proportions

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear that! I hope everything works out OK for you 😦 wow! I’m actually in shock–I can’t believe it!!! Please stay safe for the next Storm, and hopefully it won’t be as bad as the one that just hit 😦

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness Ionia! Are you okay? Are the kids okay?
    I hope the next storm is much more mild, or maybe passes you altogether! Hang in there! I’m sending up prayers for you. If there is anything I can do, you know where I am!!!

    Like

  3. Wow. Had no idea there were storms out there right now. I have family in the LV area. Hope you get it all sorted out. But I know just having to do that is a huge hassle. Sorry you have to go through it though. As long as you and the family are safe, it will be okay.

    Like

  4. Good grief. I think this is all climate change stuff isn’t it, or is it normal? POOR you. Having suffered through quite a few hurricanes I know how miserable and frustrating it is. Take care!

    Like

  5. Sorry about this. Wish I knew sooner. But old joke may make you laugh. Two store keepers talking about their bad fortune. One says his store burned down. The other says “did you have insurance?” “Of course I did. How have you been?” “My store was taken away in a flood.” “My goodness,” replied his friend. “Did you have insurance?” “Yes I did.” “One more question,” his friend says. “How do you start a flood?”

    Like

  6. Oh I’m so sorry for you and your family Ionia… Now I understand your silence – you were so pressed with bigger things!

    Well we are certainly here for you – tell me what I can do for you and we’ll be happy to help. You bring joy to so many and you know Karma works – good things are indeed headed your way…

    Love, Christopher

    Like

  7. Unacceptable. Be safe.
    I had no idea there was such a storm in Nevada yesterday. Wish there was something I could do to help.

    Like

    • It was a very localised storm. Odd really, the other half of the town where I’m at hardly suffered any damage. I must have done something bad in a past life. Or this one:)

      Like

  8. What doesn’t break you makes you stronger. Who on earth said that anyway? If it stands to reason, then you would have to be one super tough lady.

    May the next storm pass you by without issue. Maybe get those gumboots ready just in case and it won’t matter if they’re on the wrong feet.

    Like

  9. The animals would have been just fine if you had built the ark like you were supposed to. Obviously, Ionia is a feminine variation of Noah. 🙂 Seriously, though, I wish you and your loved ones, neighbors, and pets well.

    Like

  10. I am so sorry you have to deal with this. I think a lot of people on LI post-Sandy also feel your pain. Stay dry and well and give the insurance company hell (if need be, or just because;))

    Like

    • I feel worse for them now than ever. I do realise this could have been so much worse than it was, but it still sucks:( I will keep in mind the fact that we are both fiery feisty ones when the insurance company gives me crap:)

      Like

    • We are supposed to have our own brand of dry as death. I have a t shirt that says 50 miles from water five feet from hell. But apparently the weather fairies didn’t read that update lol. Thanks Dom!

      Like

  11. Sorry to hear about the damage done. That’s going to be a mess dealing with the insurance. We get storms like that frequently here. Two weeks ago an inch of rain fell every 15 MINUTES. Yes, 1″ every 15 minutes, we had flash flooding all over the place, it was nuts. did the 2nd storm ever come through?

    Like

  12. Ugh! That really sucks about your house. I hate that that happen to both you and your mom. I hope things go smoothly with the insurance companies. Keep us updated on how it is going!

    Like

Talk to me!

