The fourth Fisherman by Joe Kissack

The Fourth Fisherman: How Three Mexican Fishermen Who Came Back from the Dead Changed My Life and Saved My MarriageThe Fourth Fisherman: How Three Mexican Fishermen Who Came Back from the Dead Changed My Life and Saved My Marriage by Joe Kissack

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We each came to a moment of brokenness;
what we found there was God.
And he was enough.

It was the subject of headlines around the world:  Three Mexican fishermen in a small open boat without any supplies, drifting for more than nine months and 5,500 miles across the Pacific Ocean. Through blistering sun and threatening storms, they battle starvation, dehydration, hopelessness, and death. Their lifelines? An unwavering faith and a tattered Bible.
 
Thousands of miles away, Joe Kissack, a successful Hollywood executive, personified the American dream. He enjoyed the trappings of the good life: a mini mansion, sports cars, and more. He had it made. Yet the intense pressure of his driven and high-powered career sends him into a downward spiral, driving him deep into suicidal depression, insidious addictions, and alienation from his family. His lifelines? A friend and a Bible on the table between them. 
 
Thoughtfully told with candor and humor, Kissack weaves together the incredible true voyage of fishermen adrift in the sea and his own life’s journey as a man lost in the world. It is a story that will buoy your spirit and renew your hope and faith.(less)

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published March 13th 2012 by WaterBrook Press (first published 2010)
ISBN
030795627X (ISBN13: 9780307956279)
edition language
English
My thoughts:

Admittedly, I am not a terribly religious person, nor am I married. Still, I chose this book because it looked interesting and the story of the lost fisherman captivated my sense of adventure and curiosity.

If you are looking for a deeply religious experience, this book may not be right for you. However, if you are looking for an interesting book with a lot of truth from the author, this would be one I could recommend. The story the author tells of his rise to success and eventual fall from grace is touching. The way he interweaves the tale of the Mexican fisherman into his was very well handled and appeared rather seamless.

This is a book that makes you stop and think about how lucky you are to have the things you do, and was good for a reality check. I needed one. I was surprised though, by how little mention of repentance and actual development of a relationship with God was covered in this book. Perhaps I just don’t read enough religious text to recognise it.

Either way, this book is worthy of a read. The stories of the author and the fisherman were exciting and for the most part, I thought this book had a nice flow. It was a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

Why not give it a try? I did and was pleasantly surprised.

This review is based off of an ARC from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group which I received in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.

Talk to me!

