Solace

A barren land of ice and cold

a journey with no hand to hold

and now I see a future sun

a gentle warming has begun

 

A million rainy days and nights

three times as many stolid plights

Then one day you’re standing there

and what the hell? I suddenly care?

 

Things that had never been before

are now beating down  my door

and sending me crashing to the floor

and making me wish for even more

 

I knew my heart and knew my mind

and I knew love was poisoned wine

and yet I ventured past the vine

and sipped a goblet of passion mine

 

and do I look back with regret

not a chance and  not a fret

a golden day out in the sun

is worth the ever uphill run

 

With nectar from his tender soul

I bask in rays of reflected grace

and without fear I take a step

and reach out for my one solace

 

 

 

44 thoughts on “Solace

Talk to me!

