The Storm and the Darkness by Sarah M. Cradit

The Storm and the Darkness (House of Crimson and Clover Series #2)

I have been looking forward to reading this book ever since I first heard about it. I FINALLY got to and it is amazing. So please, drop by Sarah’s blog and say hello to her. Congratulate her on her success now and get to know her and make her give you an autograph whilst she is still talking to us little folk. Just don’t offer to buy her a Pepsi.

Sarah’s Blog

The Storm and the Darkness by Sarah M. Cradit

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ana Deschanel has made a terrible mistake. The only chance of protecting the other people involved is to flee New Orleans, the only home she has ever known, for the quiet solitude of Summer Island.

Summer Island, Maine (population 202) is not the tranquil escape Ana imagined. The locals are distant and cold, especially her neighbor, the reclusive veterinarian Jonathan St. Andrews. Her only lifeline is the kind but odd caretaker Alex Whitman. Showing up at all the right moments, he warns her she is completely unprepared for a Maine winter. As the first winter storm approaches to whispers of an island shutdown- Ana realizes that she may soon be cut off from the rest of the world.

After a surprising encounter with Jonathan’s brother, Finn, Ana finds herself braving the storm to return something to him. Unprepared for the Maine storm, she slips and falls onto the jagged rocks along the shore. The St. Andrews brothers find her in the nick of time, but she remains unconscious. As the storm worsens, the St. Andrews brothers learn there are other, more sinister forces at work closer than they ever imagined.

With no help from the outside world, they must find a way to protect themselves from both the storm, and the growing darkness that looms across the island.–Description unceremoniously stolen from Goodreads for the purpose of making this post look more official.

Published July 6th 2013
ISBN
1490589481 (ISBN13: 9781490589480)
edition language
English

My thoughts on this novel:

I expected great things from this author. I read her blog often and I know how intelligent she is, but this truly astounded me. I don’t think I was prepared for how well this book flowed from her pen, nor how easy it was to lose yourself in it.

I love the way the chapters in this novel are arranged. You get the opportunity to learn about the characters individually and build a relationship with them before moving on to the main portion of the story. I enjoyed the gentle introduction to the characters and appreciated that Sarah Cradit did not do a huge information dump right at the beginning of the novel. Instead, the book progresses naturally and allows you to explore the characters, the setting and come to know the plot without feeling rushed or overburdened.

Sarah Cradit’s writing is tight and masterful. There were no points during the journey through reading this novel where I thought anything could have been removed or expanded upon. Her keen sense of how to pace a book and her ability to use just the right language to express the desires, fears and hopes of her characters is flawless.

This story will make you fall in love, shock you, keep you in suspense and make you stay up all night (warning) just so you can find out what happens next.

If you have ever read a book that you never want to stop reading, or if you have ever thought about a novel long hours after finishing it, then you know how I feel about The Storm and the Darkness. This is a beautifully crafted book and I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series.

I received an arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was provided and my opinions are my own.

Want to win a copy of this book? Check out this link: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18046472-the-storm-and-the-darkness

Only good until the 6th of August so enter today if you want a copy!

35 thoughts on “The Storm and the Darkness by Sarah M. Cradit

  1. Read “St. Charles at Dusk” and loved everything about it. I am looking forward to reading “The Storm and the Drakness” soon. Ionia’s review makes me want to hurry up and get a copy πŸ™‚ We love you Sarah and are very proud to be in your company πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Another great review, Ionia. My reading list is growing by the week.
    Sarah, I think your status as a ‘real writer’ as you put it was decided by others some time ago. Glad that you feel you are now.

    Like

  3. Another great review, Ionia. My reading list is growing by the week.
    Sarah, I think your status as a ‘real writer’ as you put it was decided by readers some time ago. Glad that you feel you are now.

    Like

Talk to me!

