Pipe Dreams by Destiny Allison

Pipe Dreams

In case you have missed me talking about her or her blog previously, Destiny Allison is someone you should all take a moment to get to know. She is an artist, a writer and very active in the community where she lives as well as with her fellow writers/bloggers. This woman is selfless. She spends hours organising promotional and marketing efforts for other authors and is even sharing some of the profits from her novel to help out other authors. Please take a moment of your time and go visit her here: Destiny Allison

Also–Read this book! Here is why you should. Well, obviously because I said so, but besides that:

Pipe Dreams by Destiny Allison

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Beneath the park bench, a young girl cries for help, her voice a cold hand on Vanessa’s throat. The naked girl is desperate, but compassion for the Fallen is never forgiven. In a moment of hesitation, Vanessa sets in motion a chain of event that will determine mankind’s fate.

Unbeknownst to her, Lewis is still haunted by her thick, auburn hair, serious eyes, and mocking laughter. She is the symbol of all he hates and her interaction with the girl is what he needs to gain control of the virus. As his plan unfolds, Vanessa is forced to flee. Escaping through the sewer, she finds love, heartbreak, and the red beam of a gun sight dancing on the slick, black wall. In the deep dark of the foul pipe, she also discovers she has been betrayed. That’s when she learns Texas is real.

Pipe Dreams is a dystopian novel set in the near future. If gene splicing could merge Margaret Atwood and Suzanne Collins, the resulting author might write this book.

Paperback, 360 pages
Published June 2nd 2013
original title
Pipe Dreams
ISBN
0615823742 (ISBN13: 9780615823744)
edition language
English

My thoughts on this book:

First of all, I would like to preface this review by saying that this is not at all my usual genre. The reason I mention this is because I stick to two or three basic genres I enjoy reading and therefore do not tend to branch out much, so I am always surprised when a book from an unfamiliar genre really captivates me.

When I began reading this novel, the first thing I noticed is that it is edgy. I like that very much. The characters do not feel like they are pretending to be something other than what the author, Destiny Allison, created them to be. I didn’t feel as though I was looking at cardboard cutouts of characters torn from other books and then revamped.

Secondly, there are no lulls or dull spots in this book. It begins with a startling revelation and continues to shock you and please you as it unfolds. I haven’t read many books in this category, but the few that I have certainly did not pique my interest as this one has.

The plot was well crafted. There were a few times when I thought I might have things figured out, but was wrong each time. I really enjoyed the suspenseful way the author used the character’s reactions to build tension for the reader. Instead of announcing everything that was about to happen, she let the characters experience things so that the reader can as well.

When I found myself at the halfway point, I stopped for a moment and told myself I would only read for a few minutes more and then go get dinner made. So, naturally I ended up reading all the way to the end.

Also, here is one of my favourite quotes:

“Damn, It’s been a long time since you had any contact with the rest of the world, hasn’t it?”

One small warning *This book does have foul language in it, so if you are offended by this, please note that it does contain some.

I personally did not find it offensive, and thought it fit with the contents of the book and the personalities/situations of the characters.

Overall, this was a great read that I was impressed with. If you are looking for something a bit dangerous, exciting and different in a good way, pick up a copy of Pipe Dreams today. If you are a fan of novels where you never know quite what to expect next, this will be a good choice for you.

* May I just add that I am not a Suzanne Collins fan. The word Dystopian makes me think of Battle Royale. Battle Royale makes me think of Suzanne Collins. So therefore, since I liked this book it must be good. Just saying.

16 thoughts on “Pipe Dreams by Destiny Allison

  1. Blushing, honored, and well, giggling with glee. Thanks for the fabulous review, Ionia. Thanks also to WyndyDee for the reblog! I’ve never read Battle Royale. Might have to check it out.

    Like

Talk to me!

