A thoughtful post, with Savannah Grace

Author Photo   Today, I am very pleased to welcome the lovely and well travelled Savannah Grace back to this blog. She is the author of Sihpromatum: I grew my boobs in China, and also has become a good friend of mine. You meet all sorts of people in this world, but if you are lucky enough to meet someone who is worldly, compassionate and a gifted writer, you should count yourself as being more fortunate than most. Please leave a comment for Savannah and tell her what you think. She is pretty amazing, if you ask me.

You can find Savannah at: www.sihpromatum.com

or on twitter at:   https://twitter.com/Sihpromatum

and Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Sihpromatum-I-Grew-my-Boobs-in-China/367565703312088?fref=ts

Don’t Lose Sight:
It’s extremely important that awareness is brought towards the suffering of those less fortunate and to try in every way possible to help those in need. But it’s easy to confuse the main stream media coverage of hunger crisis with the average African population. There are 54 countries in Africa and I don’t feel it is one giant continent of fear, misery or suffering. Within the 37 African countries I’ve visited, the majority of people were friendly, hospitable and joked amongst each other.

SAM_0521 (2)

Honestly, there are parts of their lives that I am jealous of, one of the main things being their huge families and respect for elders. Everyone has a hundred friends in the street, they know their neighbours and trust their community to protect them. Not once have I felt threatened or unsafe walking the streets in the day or at night. I feel less protected with my cellphone and “911” in Europe than I do with all the women and children outside running around, drinking tea, playing board games and sharing meals at night here. Kieta fled his African homeland with the preconceived notion that he was going to “the land of wealth and happiness” but instead found bitter cold; the hospitality and warm friendship he was used to was suddenly gone. Once our houses are built, I don’t doubt for a second that he will be moving back to Africa.

Guinea, West Africa - Climbing a Palm Tree (4)

Traveling has taught me that we do not need all of those materialistic things we think are so important. As long as the essentials are provided, people are more than capable of finding happiness in simplicity. People’s opinions of themselves are often mirrored by what others say and think about them, which is why it’s hard not to compete in a materialistic world.

Competing with our families to be bigger and better should never happen. We should be helping each other up and standing together; we already have way more than we need. As far as I’m concerned, that is a fact. I know it’s unrealistic to expect people to suddenly downgrade their houses, flush their iPhones and sell their cars, but if there is just one message I can get across it’s to look at what we do have and at least be grateful. Don’t take for granted or lose touch with what is truly important in our lives.

It’s impossible to be grateful 24/7 and I constantly struggle with it, perhaps because I, of all people, should know better. I’m guilty of getting caught up in this circle again and losing sight of what’s truly important. This life has been a gift for me and to forget that would be an insult. I strive to be better and try to remember how it is when living a simpler life.

SAM_0788 SAM_0493 (2) SAM_0407

14 thoughts on “A thoughtful post, with Savannah Grace

  1. Inspiring post. Only knowing the media side, I’m glad to read something that shows Africa as a place of warm communities. Too bad we don’t seem to have the same thing here, which is strange since we’re so tightly packed around here. People barely know their neighbors these days.

    Like

  2. This is the result of cultural differences, I guess. But we can learn from each other and strive to live a grateful life and be satisfied for all what we have. I know it is easier said than done but we can at least try.
    A thought provoking post indeed. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ionia, I’m so glad you gave my book a chance and that this great friendship has formed from it. I’m so grateful to be part of your amazing site!!! You have been wonderful. Thank you to everyone for reading and for you’re encouragement and compliments. Those are the things that really keep this world spinning. *spreading smiles*

    Like

  4. Oh jolly good, we have anew girlfriend. she sounds like a really special person that i would like to get to know. We Americans think we know so much about the world until we travel and find out that we aren’t all that! Great interview Ionia.

    Like

  5. A very interesting post. It is true that the more we quest for material possessions and the like, the less we consider the things that truly make us happy such as love and friendship, respecting other people, things that do not cost anything. I have also just started reading Savannah’s book, which I am really enjoying.

    Like

  6. I completely agree with your post and thanks for the enlightenment. In addition to that, the main stream media also lose sight of the fact that there are a lot of big cities in Africa with great architecture that compete with what’s obtainable here in the US. Also we don’t see images of well groomed professionals in corporate attires working in well designed and air conditioned offices. Not everything in Africa is rural – wild animals, runny nose and bloated kids – It’s really sad …

    Like

  7. Pingback: Sihpromatum – I Grew my Boobs in China by Savannah Grace (Review) | My Life. One Story at a Time.

Talk to me!

