Rose Harbor in Bloom

Rose Harbor in Bloom (Rose Harbor #2)

 
Hailed as “the reigning queen of women’s fiction” (The Sacramento Bee), #1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber is renowned for her novels of love, friendship, and the promise of fresh starts. Now Macomber returns to the charming Rose Harbor Inn, where each guest finds a second chance and every room comes with an inspiring new view.

Since moving to Cedar Cove, Jo Marie Rose has truly started to feel at home, and her neighbors have become her closest friends. Now it’s springtime, and Jo Marie is eager to finish the most recent addition to her inn. In memory of her late husband, Paul, she has designed a beautiful rose garden for the property and enlisted handyman Mark Taylor to help realize it. She and Mark don’t always see eye-to-eye—and at times he seems far removed—yet deep down, Jo Marie finds great comfort in his company. And while she still seeks a sense of closure, she welcomes her latest guests, who are on their own healing journeys.

Annie Newton arrives in town to orchestrate her grandparents’ fiftieth wedding anniversary celebration. While Annie is excited for the festivities, she’s struggling to move on from her broken engagement, and her grandparents themselves seem to be having trouble getting along. Worse, Annie is forced to see Oliver Sutton, with whom she grew up and who has always mercilessly teased her. But the best parties end with a surprise, and Annie is in for the biggest one of all.

High-powered businesswoman Mary Smith, another Rose Harbor Inn guest, has achieved incredible success in her field, yet serious illness has led her to face her sole, lingering regret. Almost nineteen years ago, she ended her relationship with her true love, George Hudson, and now she’s returned to Cedar Cove to make amends.

Compassion and joy await Jo Marie, Annie, and Mary as they make peace with their pasts and look boldly toward their futures. Rose Harbor in Bloom is Debbie Macomber at her heartwarming best.

Rose Harbor in Bloom by Debbie Macomber

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

♥♥♥♥

Debbie. Reliably entertaining, emotional and sweet Debbie Macomber is back with the next installment in her new series that ties in closely with the much adored Cedar Cove series (now a telly series as well.)

This book is typical of the previous Debbie Macomber books, meaning that if you love heartwarming stories where the characters feel like people that you have known your entire life and share themselves with you seemingly effortlessly, then this will put you right at home.

There were new characters in this novel, but also a return to some of the Cedar Cove favourites (love that series.) It was nice to get small updates on where some of the characters were at now, so long after the other series ended.

I thought the escape from reality I got while reading this book outweighed the few minor complaints I had, for the most part. If you read fiction looking for absolute reality you may want to reconsider your hobbies, right? This book is charming, sweet and has the usual humour that makes me love this author. If you haven’t picked up the first book in this new series yet, I would recommend that you do.

As I have come to expect, there are many different stories being told in this novel and in the end, they all make sense and tie together neatly, just as the citizens in a real community interact with one another. I think this is one of the biggest charms in Debbie’s books. You tend to forget that you are reading words on paper (or on screen, depending.) It feels like you are talking to an old friend.

The biggest issue I have with Debbie Macomber books, is that they are addictive. Like crisps, you can’t just have one.

Read it. Love it. What are you waiting for?

This review is based on a digital ARC provided by the publisher and Netgalley.

7 thoughts on “Rose Harbor in Bloom

  1. Oh my, you had to do it. My mother has a whole row of books by this woman. She was trying to get me to read one. Some big time disconnect there. These bag of chips, cofort food on wood pulp books would probably draw me in, and then where would I be? Is there any really big guns, exploding buildings, evil vampires feeding off the grandparents? I think me mum told me this Debbie is from Washington – Port Orchard, maybe. I hope I’m wrong, it’s such a depraved, damp, desolate little dump…kind of like Forks, Washington, where that vampire series is set. I can imagine a crew of Mccomberites trying to clean up the streets of Port O. Thanks for warning me…been missing your head-ups on bookage.
    Later…

    Like

  2. You have family in my neck of the woods? Who knew?
    Great review and I do read her books and love them.
    I’m reviewer stalking you…learning to do reviews after the stuffy college ways I used to. I seem to find you everywhere. I enjoy the format you use of telling about the book and then telling how you experienced the book. Nice.

    Like

    • Thank you:) oh, I don’t know about finding me everywhere. I’ve tried getting away from me before, but it never seems to last.

      In the beginning I was very formal with my reviews as well. Then I read one that I had written a bit later 💤💤💤.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Credit Where Credit’s Due | Reading For The Masses

Talk to me!

