Homicidal Aliens and other Disappointments by Brian yansky

Homicidal Aliens and Other DisappointmentsHomicidal Aliens and Other Disappointments by Brian Yansky

The reluctant hero from Alien Invasion and Other Inconveniences is back in all his droll glory — and this time the fate of humankind is on the line.

Jesse has had the worst year of his life. First a race of homicidal (but very polite) aliens invaded Earth, killing pretty much everyone and enslaving the few people left behind, including Jesse; his best friend, Michael; his sort-of girlfriend, Lauren; and the girl of his dreams, Catlin. Now Jesse is revered as some sort of Chosen One all because he managed to kill one of the alien lords and escape — even though he’s not really sure how he did it. But it’s hard to argue with the multitude of new talents he is developing, including (somehow) killing aliens with his mind and grasping glimpses of alternate futures. With thousands of aliens already on Earth and thirty million more about to arrive, Jesse has to decide whether to embrace his maybe-destiny before the world is completely destroyed. No pressure.

 

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Not very often I begin a review with LOL! but in this case I feel I must, so LOL!!!

First of all, this book begins with something interesting happening. I like that in sci fi and fantasy titles. Rather than there being a long setup of all the characters and unnecessary back story, the author tells it like it is and gets straight to the point. I respect that in a book.

Here are some of the things that I also loved about this book and what made me decide to give it a full five stars:

The humour. I dare you to read this book without laughing. The author uses a dry sort of comedy that is similar to my own, therefore I was appreciative of the many wry observations the main character made throughout.

Also, this is a book that you just want to keep highlighting passages in. There are so many hilarious quotes.

“I’m not the smartest guy when it comes to girls, but I’m smart enough to know that getting caught comparing your girlfriend to your mother is a poor relationship move.”

There were parts of this novel, particularly where the author spoke of “New America” that reminded me slightly of the same theme in Stephen King’s “The Stand.” I enjoyed it. It was refreshing to see an author use a post apocalyptic storyline and yet keep it light enough that you didn’t feel terrified and depressed during reading it.

Want a good book? Read this one. You can’t go wrong when there are aliens and awesomeness at the same time.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher in cooperation with Netgalley.

16 thoughts on “Homicidal Aliens and other Disappointments by Brian yansky

  1. Sounds like a find. That’s the part of science fiction I’ve always balked at, that the author has to set up a whole new world…completely, which leads to a lot of back story and explanation – the two most boring elements of storytelling. Going to have to give this a try. And, anyone who can make me laugh deserves better than they’re getting…so thanks !
    Later…

    Like

Talk to me!

