Gwynneth Ever After by Linda Poitevin

Gwynneth Ever AfterGwynneth Ever After by Linda Poitevin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Gwyn Jacobs doesn’t believe in fairy tales. Ever since her ex-husband walked out, leaving her alone with three small children, Gwyn has been mother, father, and bread-winner all rolled into one. Her own scarred heart aside, she refuses to open up her children’s lives to the possibility of another heartbreak, and so she has an unbending policy of no dating and no unattached men in their lives.

Until her very own fairy tale falls into her lap…and the hero won’t take no for an answer.–Description from goodreads

My thinky thinks:

“Gwynneth Ever After” is a good story to cuddle up with on the sofa in the evening and escape to. There were many things about this book that made me like it. The main character, Gwynneth, is a good mother and puts her family first before really worrying about what she wants. I can appreciate her standpoint as I also have children. She did vacillate quite a lot, but it fit the story well.

I liked the dynamic between the main character and her love interest and thought the story line between them was fun to explore. There is a strong vein of humour running through this book and some of the off the wall things that Gwynneth says are sure to make you laugh out loud as they did me.

I did find at times that the dialogue between the characters was a little far-fetched in some spots and nothing I would really expect anyone to say to anyone else in real life, but I am also keeping in mind that this is fiction. I think your reaction to this will largely depend on how realistic you want your fiction to be.

There is no real strong sexual material in this book, it is kept pretty mild. In fact, I would say the hinting about it in the beginning of the book was stronger than the actual act itself, so if strong sex scenes bother you, you might enjoy this book’s lack of them.

Overall, this was a fun read that I would happily recommend to others.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher in cooperation with Netgalley.

2 thoughts on “Gwynneth Ever After by Linda Poitevin

Talk to me!

