Fae by C.J. Abedi

FaeFae by C.J. Abedi

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The battle between Light and Dark is about to begin.

Caroline Ellis sixteenth birthday sets into motion a series of events that have been fated for centuries. A descendant of Virginia Dare, the first child born in the lost colony of Roanoke, and unaware of her birthright as the heir to the throne of the Light Fae, it isn’t until she begins a tumultuous relationship with Devilyn Reilly that the truth is revealed.

Devilyn is the only one of the Fae who is both of the Light and of the Dark, and struggles to maintain that precarious balance to avoid succumbing to the power of the Dark within him. He is the only one who can save Caroline from those who would destroy her and destroy all hope for unity among the Fae. He promises Caroline that he will protect her at all costs, even when it means protecting her from himself.

Told from the alternating perspectives of Caroline and Devilyn, FAE draws on mysteries, myths and legends to create a world, and a romance, dangerously poised between Light and Dark.

 

My thoughts:

This book has an excellent premise and a very interesting storyline. While there were large sections of this book that brought me much enjoyment, there were also places where I felt it lagged a little and could have been shortened a bit.

The characters held my attention and all throughout this book I was curious about what would come of the information presented in the prologue. This kept me reading even through some of the parts that I did not enjoy as much.

I found that after getting to the halfway point in this story that it moved pretty quickly after that and the author seemed to have found a good rhythm that made the pages turn much faster. I would say if you are struggling a little with the first half of this book that you should keep going. It will be worth it in the end. The end of the book is also very well handled.

The magic in this story was done well and the romance was a bit different than the average. The romance was where I found the most originality in this story. I thought it worked well for the personality and descriptions of the characters.

Overall this was a pretty enjoyable read that I would recommend to others who are fans of the genre.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher and provided by Netgalley.

View all my reviews

15 thoughts on “Fae by C.J. Abedi

  1. Welcome back! Funny enough for one of the prompts I did a story inspired by Roanoke, can’t remember what it was about now though, lol. Probably wasn’t any good. This looks good, I shall have to keep my eye on it if I run out of books to read.

    Like

  2. I am so excited to see you here!!! I was in the States when I saw a quick notice it was your b-day, I did a post hoping it would find its way to you – Happy birthday beautiful! Welcome back!!! How are you?

    Like

      • Thank God all is settled and hopefully – it remains so. I am doing okay. My road to recovery is a two year process and we’re still looking at some stuff – but hopeful and always smiling! I wish I were close enough to do something to help – even if it’s to offer a warm hug and a laugh! Smiles

        Like

Talk to me!

