The Medicine Man: Chief of All Time by S.R. Howen

The Chief of All Time (Medicine Man I)The Chief of All Time by S.R. Howen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

 

 

 

Shannon Running Deer is American Indian by blood, he has forsaken his people’s ancient ways to embrace the “modern” world as a wealthy, highly successful trauma surgeon.

His comfortable existence begins to unravel when, seemingly by chance, Shannon finds himself gradually drawn into the past. Pursued by an ancient evil, he knows he can change the future, if he can survive the past.

In the tradition of Diana Gabaldon, S.R. Howen’s MEDICINE MAN is a distinctive and atmospheric novel full of spirituality, mystical time travel, romance, passion, and suspense.

In respect to the author and the genre, I should state that I have not read much Native American literature, so this was a bit outside my usual genre preferences and therefore my perception may not be that of what a more experienced fan of the genre would be.

That being said, this book is well written and intriguing. The story is compelling and the characters are definitely outside the bounds of what I have come to expect from many recent novels. The depth with which S.R. Howen created her background for each character is incredible and the descriptions she gives of them helps the reader clearly get an image of each one in their mind.

I did take a slight issue with some of the jumps back and forth between the past and the present, as I felt some of them were not really expected and that made them somewhat jarring. Still, in the end, this was an exciting story and those few seconds of confusion were a small price to pay for the enjoyment I received.

If I had to choose a favourite thing about this novel, it would be the villain. I have always appreciated villains that do not give up easily and make the protagonist work hard to evade them. This is certainly the case with this one. Aside from never giving up, the villain is also intelligent and crafty, making the next move they make unpredictable for the characters and the audience.

The love story was handled well, without being too mushy or melodramatic. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and watching them learn more about one another. I never felt that the scenes of them together were contrived or overly wrought with silliness as I see in many other books. Their personalities worked well together and they were characters you wanted to root for.

Overall, this was an excellent read and worth the time. If you are interested in Native American lore and fictional books with depth and a good plot, this could be the book for you.

One thought on “The Medicine Man: Chief of All Time by S.R. Howen

Talk to me!

