The Wishing Thread by Lisa Van Allen

The Wishing ThreadThe Wishing Thread by Lisa Van Allen

 

For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love.
 
The Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they’re angels; some say they’re crooks. In their tumbledown “Stitchery,” not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters—Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie—are said to knit people’s most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made—and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers.
 
When the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah’s death forces a reunion, the sisters must reassess the state of their lives even as they decide the fate of the Stitchery. But their relationships with one another—and their beliefs in magic—are put to the test. Will the threads hold?
 
Includes an exclusive conversation between Sarah Addison Allen and Lisa Van Allen
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When you read a lot, it often becomes difficult to find much of anything that truly feels original, especially when it comes to categories as frequently abused as magical realism. This book is different and that made me happy.

The characters are definitely worth reading the book for. Sisters, they share some similarities, but they are also very different. I thought this author did a supreme job of highlighting those differences and making the women in this book work off of one another well.

This is a pretty intensely written story at times. I definitely think it is one of the better books I have read this year and it has a lot of unexpected twists that I didn’t foresee.

This is the kind of book that you want to curl up with when there are no other distractions and just enjoy it to the fullest extent. I found it easy to become wrapped up in the lives of the characters and wanted to know what would happen next with each turn of the page.

The dialogue was easy to read and enchanting. I loved getting to know this group of characters and learning about their lives.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes a story that can make them believe magic is real and one life can affect another.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher.


 

** Also, HOLY COW! This is my 700th post!

Published by: Ionia Froment

Blogger, reviewer, theology/philosophy major. I'm a mother and a writer and a supporter of free speech and freedom in general. My favourite author is Albert Camus, and I listen to a bit of everything. I've been too busy (LAZY) to blog in the last few years, but I'm giving it another shot.

Categories Reviews5 Comments

5 thoughts on “The Wishing Thread by Lisa Van Allen”

  1. 700 posts? Yikes! Congrats Ionia! I think that calls for a cookie. I will have on in your honor… munch, munch, munch… mmm? I’m supposed to share? Well boo. Hold on a second… *wolfs down rest of cookie* So sorry! It appears to be all gone. 😀

    Sounds like a pretty good story, I might have to check this one out.

    Like

  2. I LOVE Sarah Addison Allen’s books. I cannot wait to read this one, another book for the Goodreads list! Congrats on the 700th post!! Here’s to 1,000! ~Gina

    Like

Comments are closed.