North of Nowhere by Liz Kessler

North of NowhereNorth of Nowhere by Liz Kessler

The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery …Mia’s grandad has vanished and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mum go to support her grandma, Mia makes friends with local girl, Dee. But why does Dee seem so out of reach? Why does she claim to be facing violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? And can Mia solve the mystery and find her grandad before time and tide forever wash away his future? A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I do realise as I write this review that this book is intended for a younger audience, but I could not help but fall in love with it. I think this is a story that all ages may be able to appreciate.

From the very first few sentences, the reader is aware that this story is going to be interesting. The main character is likable and one of those innocent types that you want to get to know more about. I found that as her story unfolded, it was easy to put myself in her place and feel what she was feeling.

I loved the dog in the story (Flake.) He was the type of addition that made the story complete and showed the compassion of the main character.

As the book progresses, the main character discovers a journal that belongs to another girl and begins conversing with her through the pages. This was not the usual seen it and done it before journal that shows up in a lot of stories. Everything about this novel is magical. I liked the unusual, emerging friendship of the main character and the owner of the journal and it kept me turning pages.

The missing grandfather aspect of the story was also very well written. There is so much mystery and beautiful description in this story that it is very hard to put it down and walk away.

I did see a few plot stumbles in the time travel aspect of the story, but Time travel is difficult to write and it did not interfere with my overall enjoyment of the story.

If you are looking for a book for your young adult, or for yourself, may I recommend this one. Beautifully done and what a lovely cover as well.

This review is based off of a digital ARC.

6 thoughts on “North of Nowhere by Liz Kessler

Talk to me!

