The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

The-Husbands-Secret-198x300

The husbands secret

This is the SheReads.org book selection of the month. To find out more about she reads and all of the wonderful things they do, please click here: She Reads

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Husband’s Secret is an intricate novel of multiple stories and lives that all affect one another in the end. I was impressed by the way the author handled this, although I must admit, in the beginning, for the first few chapters, I was a bit confused about what was happening and where it was leading. There are a lot of secondary characters introduced in the first chapter, and they were a bit hard for me to sort out.

Once this novel really got moving for me,(along about chapter three) this became a book that I didn’t relish having to put down. I loved the quirky characters and the way the story expands into other areas and then folds back into itself, creating bonds among the various story lines.

This is not a book that I would recommend reading whilst you are distracted. This story deserves your full and undivided attention for it to truly be appreciated as it should. This is the type of book that I would take with me on a vacation or for a lazy weekend and read when there are few other commitments.

For being such a complex and unique story, it was still a relatively easy read to finish in a short time. As the tale grows, it becomes more an more interesting and captivating, leaving you desperate to know what happens in the end. The ending was not only appropriate, but handled so well that it felt like a real reward once I got there.

Overall, this was impressive and a book that I would certainly recommend to others. It will make you laugh, cry and think about things. Keep a box of tissues nearby, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

This review is based off of a digital review copy from the publisher, in cooperation with Netgalley and shereads.org.

View all my reviews

11 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

  1. Pingback: Opening Pandora’s Box The Husband’s Secret – Liane Moriarty | Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews

  2. I agree that you don’t want to be distracted when you read this. I had a hard time putting it down. I liked the short chapters but it made it really easy to say “just one more chapter.” I liked this month’s selection.

    Like

  3. I agree with you completely about this being something that is so good it deserves your full attention, without being a difficult read. I thought the author’s great writing and the Berlin wall parallel story were quite literary, but the book was so approachable anyway!

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty [Rated*****] | Dreams of a Library

Talk to me!

