Teatime for the Firefly by Shona Patel

Teatime for the FireflyTeatime for the Firefly by Shona Patel

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There is no doubt that this book is finely written and has a backdrop rich in history and gentle beauty. The descriptions are magnificent and the writing is solid and pleasant to read.

Still, this was not a book that wowed me.The pace is not terribly fast and the characters, although interesting, did not really pull me in and make me care a lot for what happens to them.

I did enjoy the romantic aspect of this story. Where many other books fail, in my opinion, is that they allow the romantic relationship of the characters to be the central focus of the story and it tends to take over every other aspect. This author did not do that. The romance moves along at the same even pace as the book and although it is a prominent part of the story, it does not become the sole focus at any point.

The descriptions of the lands are so visual and textured that one can almost imagine being one of the characters and experiencing the world just as they would. I love it when an author can truly take me to another place through vibrant description and great word choices.

Overall, this was a fairly good read. I wouldn’t recommend it for those who are looking for a faster paced book, but rather for those who enjoy an intelligent, worthwhile read with a lot of substance.

If you are a fan of cultural stories or historical fiction, then this will do nicely for you.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher and Netgalley.

6 thoughts on “Teatime for the Firefly by Shona Patel

  1. Love the title. Patel…East Indian, I’m presuming. My students from that part of the world used to show me books they were reading from their homeland, and they do have a different sense of timing, pace, and way of going about their romantic involvements. Not too surprised if it wouldn’t do well with a Western audience…but I’m assuming a lot, that the author is of that traditional mindset, or at least raised around it.
    Later…

    Like

Talk to me!

