Townhouse by Brian Rowe

TownhouseTownhouse by Brian Rowe

Twenty-four-year-old Sara Crimson isn’t happy that she’s moving into a shady apartment complex with a man she barely knows. But after discovering she’s pregnant with her first child, she decides to try to make a relationship work with the baby daddy Max, an up-and-coming talent agent, who proposes marriage and asks her to move in with him. An aspiring novelist, Sara at first is elated with the additional free time she has to focus on her writing. But as the days turn to weeks, she starts to suspect that something peculiar is happening in the Executive Townhouses of North Hollywood, California. People start disappearing, strange noises echo down the corridor, and an old, creepy tenant finds his entertainment value in staring at her from afar. But what Sara doesn’t know is that the hidden horrors that lie inside the apartment complex are far worse than anything her overactive imagination could have ever conceived..

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So…all of you people who are really squeamish and can’t handle a little well placed decapitation and moral corruption might want to avoid this book. For the rest of you that enjoy a good horror story with characters that are a lot of fun and make you look over your own shoulder, this is one to pick up.

Here’s what I liked: Sarah, the main character is a brat. She really is, but she is a well written brat that makes you dislike her for her personality. When a character has enough personality that you can make a decision on whether or not you could be friends with them if they were in real life, the author must have done something right. She bugged the crap out of me. I like it.

I liked the way Brian Rowe approached horror in this book. Things didn’t happen right away, but the book wasn’t boring either. There were just enough hints given about what was yet to come to keep me turning pages. The dialogue was interesting and the internal thoughts of Sarah and Max often made me laugh. I appreciated that I was able to get to know the history of the characters before the rest of the events got started.

This book didn’t go the way I thought it would initially and it was this unexpected stuff that made me really end up enjoying it. There is a bit of gross, but not so much that it ruined the book for me. The author clearly has a handle on how to tell a good story and keep the attention of his reader.

What I loved a bit less:

There are a few editing booboos in this book, namely wrong word forms used and some sections that could have used a bit better editing. Still, as a whole, this was an enjoyable read that I would recommend to others.

This review is based off of a digital ARC from the publisher and provided through Netgalley.

*Also showing my Nevada pride here* the author is a UNR student:) Go Wolfpack!

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Townhouse by Brian Rowe

Talk to me!

