Dodged: Poems and Writings from the Abyss Within by Jason Humm

Amazon Link

Description: 

Look directly into the mind of someone struggling with severe depression and thoughts of suicide.

Collection of poems and writings straight out of the darkness that consumed me.

Pure. Raw. Nothing held back. A first-hand tour of my depression.

I am sharing these intimate thoughts to show that:

  • it is ok to talk about depression and suicide
  • you are not alone
  • help is available
  • it gets better

It is time to end the stigma surrounding depression, suicide, and mental illnesses.

Contains explicit and graphic language.

I will donate half of all proceeds from this book to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

 

My thoughts:

I did not go into this book with any illusions. I knew that it was not going to be the proverbial walk in the park, so the dark material was not a surprise at all. From a poetic standpoint, this may not be literary perfection. The stanzas are wild and unkempt, but there is a reason for this in my opinion; it quite well reflects the state of mind the author was in at this point of his life.

I found this book to be important for two main reasons. First of all, the author took the time to introduce these poems by mentioning the suicide rate that the world is currently dealing with, and make his introduction a way to offer help to those who are also suffering with depression and suicidal thoughts. I felt that he had really learned something from his experiences and was able to come from a place of knowledge when extending a plea for others to get help.

The second reason I think this book is worth the time to read and is important, is because it is pure honesty. You can see the rise and fall of the author’s moods reflected within his writing, and as he did not reorganise but rather kept the poems in their original order, you are able to see the roller coaster of thoughts, feelings and emotions that he went through during this period of his life as they occurred to him then.

For anyone who is suffering from similar issues or has been through a depression of some magnitude in the past, this book will seem like a familiar home. When you are standing on the edge and you know complete darkness–the soul sucking type of depression where hope is lost, normal life seems gone forever and you are not sure if you will ever–can ever come back from it, then you know what this author has been through. His writing reflects this perfectly.

I was particularly taken with a couple of the poems: “Sunday Thoughts” and “House on the Hill.” My favourite passage from this book was: “Maybe one day someone will fill the house with love, Maybe one day the house will be a home again.” This showed the hope for the future that the book is ended with and matched well with the message at the beginning.

I would recommend this book to others who have dealt with depression, are currently dealing with it, or know someone else who is. Reading through this may help them realise that they are not alone and there is help out there.

12 thoughts on “Dodged: Poems and Writings from the Abyss Within by Jason Humm

  1. This is interesting and relevant, Ionia, and I’ll be looking into it. Thank you. It always seems to lift the spirits to hear from those who share a similar perspective, even if the journey is a dark one.

    Like

    • Definitely agreed. His take on what he went through was so similar to my own that at times it was like seeing the past in my own life through his eyes. I think people fear that if someone is depressed they should stay away from anything not screaming happy, but I always find it comforting to know others have survived such things.

      Like

      • Absolutely! Part of my goal of publishing this collection was to show others that things do get better. I know it is hard to see that when you are severely depressed. There is no shame in asking for help, for telling someone that you are in pain.

        Things get better. You are not alone. Help is available.

        -Jason

        Like

    • I wish you good health as you get thru this–and you will. Keep in mind as you read that this is how bad I was at the time (5 years ago). But today, I am alive, happy, and properly managing my depression. That is what I hope people take away from the book–that things do get better.

      I was so hopeless and lost when I was writing those poems. Where I am today, it is hard for me to imagine that those thoughts came from me.

      My e-mail address is in the front, so if you ever want or need to talk about any of this, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me.

      Be well,
      Jason

      Like

  2. Thank you Jason. It’s been on Wellbutrin for 5 weeks now (300mg). Most days are better than others now, compared to how I was feeling six and seven weeks ago. I keep thinking I need to write down my thoughts and haven’t gotten around to it and I’m not sure why. I think reading your book will help me with that. I am noticing the last few days I’m feeling more anxious than I do other days and I hope it goes away again, I don’t like feeling like that. One day at a time. 🙂 ~Gina

    Like

    • I didn’t know until my therapist told me, but depression and anxiety are so closely related. Chances are that if you are dealing with one, you are dealing with both. I think that’s why most of the antidepressants are used as antianxiety meds. I am also overcoming severe anxiety. It got so bad two years ago that I was agoraphobic and was able to leave my house for many, many months. It has been a long, slow road toward recovery from that. Good therapy, finding the meds that work for me, and now support from my wife (married on 3/2/13). So, I know what you are going thru. Keep your head up, and always remember that you are not alone.

      I wish you good health and a better tomorrow,
      Jason

      Like

  3. Pingback: Dodged by Jason Humm is Free today | Green Embers

Talk to me!

