Hello Pek-In Kennels by Gary R. Gresch

* pssst…hey you guys…this book was written by Gina’s dad. GG! This is a great book!

Hello, Pek-In Kennels by Gary R. Gresch

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a wonderfully sentimental first-person narrative of a family’s personal experiences owning and operating a canine kennel.

There isn’t anything negative to say about this book. It is at once warm and funny, delightful and enjoyable. The various stories and recollections of past experiences will warm the hearts of any animal lover or anyone who has worked in a pet related industry. The big hearts and compassion of this family is clear in their history of taking in needy animals and transforming them into good pets.

I enjoyed the stories of their interactions with customers, the crazy antics of the animals and the tales of their children as they grew up alongside this business. The author’s voice is funny and pleasant to read and kept me laughing throughout.

There are also some emotional moments in this book, with the loss of trusted companions and friends, but it was never displayed to the reader in a depressing and sad way.

When you read this book, you feel like you are talking with an old friend and reminiscing with them about shared experiences, rather than reading an account of someone else’s life. I hope to see another book at some point. This would be a great gift for any animal care professional.

At the end of the book, there is a section called “Famous sayings,” and this ended up being so much fun I had to read it to other people around me, who in turn, nodded their heads in agreement and giggled as well.

I loved this book. You should take a minute to check it out, it is worth the time to read.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Hello Pek-In Kennels by Gary R. Gresch

  1. WWWHHEEEE!! I’m so excited for this!!! I can’t thank you enough for this. This made my day and probably my dad’s. Sknicholls, I know my dad has copies left if you’d like to buy one. Send me an email to greschgina@gmail.com and I can get you his contact information. I’m sure he’d autograph it too! ~Gina

    Like

  2. Pingback: Hello, Pek-In Kennels | Green Embers

Talk to me!

