Guest Post: Catalysts by Charles E Yallowitz

CatalystsBig thank you to Ionia for letting me post about my debut Horror novella.  I promise to clean up after myself and lock the door when I’m done.

Synopsis

When trapped in an elevator together, Jeffrey and Darla learn that misery doesn’t always love company. With the screams of death and chaos echoing from outside, they find themselves slowly slipping into a world of fear and darkness they may never recover from. All the while, something is terrorizing the convention outside and turning the guests and celebrities into psychotic monsters.
.
AVAILABLE ON AMAZON KINDLE FOR 99 CENTS!!!!!
.
The inspiration for Catalysts is that I wanted to try another genre.  I’ve spent most of my life playing in the fantasy genre, so I set out to prove to myself and one annoying friend that I could step out of that comfort zone.  Supernatural horror came to mind because I use monsters in fantasy.  The difference is that I had to focus more on the mentality of the humans as they were hunted, killed, and driven to their breaking points.  Unlike fantasy adventures, every character felt like they needed to have fear in their actions and hearts.  Even those that are fighting back are doing so with the desperation to survive instead of heroic courage.  So, my main goal in this experiment was to bring across the terror of the characters.
.
There is also Jeffrey and Darla who are stuck in the elevator.  While the people within the carnage are running in fear, these two are trapped within their own misery.  I went dark for them and will admit that I can to be careful about making myself depressed when writing their scenes.  The elevator scenes and the carnage scenes are aimed to contrast each other.  Jeffrey and Darla are slowly falling into their personal abyss and trying to retain their sanity.  The people on the outside are rushing around and trying to get out alive with very few moments to relax.  In fact, characters relaxing tend to be a sign that something is about to go wrong.
.
Anyway, that’s the origin of this idea.  I’m stepping out of my comfort zone and hopefully everyone gets to reap the benefits of it.  If horror isn’t your thing then you can read an exciting fantasy adventure in LEGENDS OF WINDEMERE, each for 99 cents.
.

Hopefully this meets with Ionia’s approval.  Don’t want her to get mad and throw me clear across a clearing.  (I made that writing mistake and I have to live with it, so I might as well own it.)

33 thoughts on “Guest Post: Catalysts by Charles E Yallowitz

  1. Once again, congratulations! The story sounds scary, and the premise equally unique. Somehow, a tale of being trapped in an elevator is as chilling as what goes on outside the elevator. Great hook!

    Like

    • Thanks. It’s fun to get both sides too. The hard part was having the events in the elevator hint or mirror the emotions in the outside scene. Also, it was so tempting to make some of the ‘monsters’ zombie-like when they aren’t zombies.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal-Legends of Windemere-Allure of the Gypsies | AUTHORS PROMOTION

  3. Pingback: Legends of Windemere: Allure of the Gypsies | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Talk to me!

