Broken by CJ Lyons

BrokenBroken by C.J. Lyons

New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons makes her YA debut with a fast-paced thriller sure to keep readers guessing to the very last page

The only thing fifteen-year-old Scarlet Killian has ever wanted is a chance at a normal life. Diagnosed with a rare and untreatable heart condition, she has never taken the school bus. Or giggled with friends during lunch. Or spied on a crush out of the corner of her eye. So when her parents offer her three days to prove she can survive high school, Scarlet knows her time is now… or never. Scarlet can feel her heart beating out of control with every slammed locker and every sideways glance in the hallway. But this high school is far from normal. And finding out the truth might just kill Scarlet before her heart does.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I fell in love with this book before the first chapter was even complete. Really–yes, this is unusual for me to say so as I like to make my decisions when I am finished with the novel, but in this case, there was simply no doubt in my mind that what I had before me was a truly great book. Now that I have finished the book, I can definitely say that I was right. It is a great book.

Scarlet was a character that I could get close to right away for many reasons. Her internal voice was so honest right from the start that I found it easy to feel compassion for her situation. She wanted so much to be normal and to live life to the fullest that I found myself wishing the best for her and excited about each page that went by.

The thriller aspect of this book comes a bit later than I expected, but I thought the buildup of the rest of the story was perfect. I always feel when the author rushes straight into the dramatic aspects of a novel before I have the chance to get to know the main character that the book ends up lacking a crucial connection. I was already invested in the characters of this book before the major angles began, so I cared what happened to them.

I have shied away from novels that had teenaged main characters for the most part since I got bored with the repeat story lines. This one, I am very happy to say is different. More so than the usual high-school drama of boy and girl meet…fight…make up, this book has a main character with genuine concerns and a real problem.

This book has some romance, danger and excitement in it as well as being compelling, well-paced and interesting. If you enjoy books where you are never sure exactly what is going to happen next and the characters seem realistic and like someone you could reach out and touch, this is a great book to choose.

This review is based on a digital ARC from Netgalley and the Publisher–Sourcebooks Fire.

View all my reviews

This ebook is still on special Through November 5th:

10 thoughts on “Broken by CJ Lyons

  1. I think that is important have characters that you are invested in, before the action, before the problems start. So often the action is used as a big introduction to a story, to entice readers in. What if I don’t like the characters that it will affect though? I would much rather get to know the characters first. Romance, danger and excitement. Sounds like a perfect combination.

    Like

Talk to me!

