The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

The Lake of DreamsThe Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

From Kim Edwards, the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, an arresting novel of one family’s secret history

Imbued with all the lyricism, compassion, and suspense of her bestselling novel, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Kim Edwards’s The Lake of Dreams is a powerful family drama and an unforgettable story of love lost and found.

Lucy Jarrett is at a crossroads in her life, still haunted by her father’s unresolved death a decade earlier. She returns to her hometown in Upstate New York, The Lake of Dreams, and, late one night, she cracks the lock of a window seat and discovers a collection of objects. They appear to be idle curiosities, but soon Lucy realizes that she has stumbled across a dark secret from her family’s past, one that will radically change her—and the future of her family—forever.

The Lake of Dreams will delight those who loved The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, as well as fans of Anna Quindlen and Sue Miller.

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was definitely not the wow! incredible experience that I was expecting after hearing so much about it from other people. I didn’t dislike it for the most part, but I also didn’t love it.

I fell in love with certain passages, they way they were written, the beautiful quality of the descriptions the author used and the way she made the world of her characters as plain as day for her reader to experience was amazing, but the story–sadly, felt a bit slow.

While reading this story, I found myself wondering if the characters would really behave in real life situations as they did in this book. At times their emotions seemed predictable and worse–stilted. I value an honest response from a character in a book that is fiction, when the fiction mirrors real life. I didn’t feel that I got that from this book.

I really liked the main character’s mother and thought the relationship between them was the best part of the story. The love and bond they share reminded me of my own mum, and that part of the story Kept me reading even when others did not captivate my senses.

The book did not end as I would have expected, but it ended well and there were no unresolved issues, which I was grateful for.

I would recommend this book to those who understand the way this author writes and appreciate a slower paced, yet beautifully crafted book. It is not a book that I think everyone will love, but rarely do I say that about any book.

While I do not think I would add this to my favourites shelf, there are parts of this book that I loved and it did have value. I am happy that I had the chance to read it.

3 thoughts on “The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

  1. Great, well balanced, review. It is a shame that it didn’t live up to the expectations you had from hearing about it. I often try to avoid hearing too much about a book before reading it, although that often isn’t possible. I know that with me I often react against things that are really popular, which tends to colour my opinion, however hard I try not to allow it. It is good that you still found many good points within the book. I personally like the sound of it.

    Like

    • Yeah agreed Julian. Lately with anything I might be looking forward to I go on a blackout and try to avoid pre-release topics to keep my expectations within check. Very good review Ionia! 🙂

      Like

Talk to me!

