An Interview with the fabulous Carly Drake

Please give author Carly Drake–author of Words Once Spoken a big welcome to Readful Things. This series promises to be one of the most exciting and adventurous new series out there. Carly has been kind enough to offer us some insight into her books and her writing career–thank you for sharing with us!

18367335

What was the earliest thing you remember writing?

I remember being really little, I think it was after my 5th birthday, which incidentally, I spent in the hospital with a nasty tummy bug. My dad really wanted me to write “thank you” cards for the birthday presents I had gotten. There were so many to write and when you are that young, a task like that is pretty arduous. Most of my earliest “writing” memories were equally traumatic in one way or the other, so its a huge surprise to me that I’m actually an author!

When did you know that writing books was going to be part of your future?

I honestly never considered it. Even after I got my English degree and people kept asking me if I wrote books. My answer was always, “No, and I probably never will.” I had attempted to in the past without much success, but apparently Evelyn’s story needed to be told, and if you’ve read this book you will see that she is pretty hard to resist!

The category your book falls in is a busy one with a lot of competition, how have you made your work stand out in the crowd?

This is something I have struggled with, and a writer friend of mine keeps asking me the same question. “How are you marketing this book?” I think he is quite frustrated with my answers, because they are often some variation of, “I don’t know.” I’m an introvert who doesn’t like to toot her own horn, and even though social media has its advantages, I’m not fond of cramming myself down everyone’s throat. I almost wish we could go back to the good old days of books being popular because of bookstores and word of mouth.

Can you tell us a bit about you and your writing?

I got married when I was 18 because I had met “the one” and wasn’t about to let him go. The only problem was that he was in the military which meant I had to follow his career and couldn’t follow my own. So, its taken 13 years to figure out what I want to do, and as I’ve said before I’m very much surprised that it is writing.

As for my writing style, its very organic. I will go as far to plan motives/intentions and the bare bones of the story’s structure, but a lot of things happen in the hands of the characters. It is their story after all!

What first gave you the idea for “Words Once Spoken?”

My Katniss Halloween costume last year. I think girls being about to fight and fend for themselves is awesome!

Your main character is amazing. She is tough and yet caring and easy to love, did you know what her personality would evolve into when you first began writing. or did she surprise you as the book came together?

I had a pretty good idea, but yes she did surprise me at times. I wanted her to be tough, but not unemotional. She has a good heart, but I wanted her to be thick skinned enough to be able to survive not only the harsh realities of medieval life, but also the predatory ones of the paranormal life.

Can you tell us anything about upcoming books and where we can find your work?

This book is available where ever ebooks are sold. Amazon, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, etc.

I can be found on twitter @endlessbindings and my website is carlydrake.com

I would love to hear from the fans! I am currently working on finishing the rest of the series.

How important do you feel it is for an author to receive feedback from fans?

Very important. Of course, I can’t make changes/decisions to please everyone, but if a fan really enjoys my work I would love to hear from them/interact with them. A positive word of encouragement for an artist that puts so much work and time into a project is like our pixie dust….it helps us fly with our happy thoughts!

 

Thank you for reviewing my book and for interviewing me. It is very much appreciated!

14 thoughts on “An Interview with the fabulous Carly Drake

  1. Great interview! I would like to mention that word of mouth is the number one thing that still sells anything, the trick is getting it to people so they can share it. This is a good step in that direction! (Coming from another introvert over here, lol). Wish I wasn’t at work then I could add it to my goodreads list. 🙂

    Good job Carly and Ionia. 🙂

    Like

Talk to me!

