Allure of the Gypsies by Charles E. Yallowitz

Allure of the Gypsies (Legends of Windemere, #3)Allure of the Gypsies by Charles E. Yallowitz

The adventures of Luke Callindor and Nyx continue after their journey down the L’Dandrin River in Legends of Windemere: Prodigy of Rainbow Tower.

Reeling from his failures in their previous adventure, Luke leads his surviving friends to his hometown. With his mind frayed and his confidence fractured, Luke must face the family and fiancée he left behind. It is a brief homecoming when the vampire Kalam attacks the village, forcing Luke and Nyx to break into his lair for the key to resurrecting a fallen warrior. It is a quest that will force both young heroes to reach new heights of strength and power that they never knew they had.

Can Luke and Nyx escape the lair of Kalam? And, what role will the orphaned gypsy Sari play in their looming destiny?

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Allure of the Gypsies is the much anticipated third installment in the Legends of Windemere fantasy series by author Charles E. Yallowitz.

I started in this series with the first book, “Beginning of a Hero.” Since then, I have joyfully made my way through “Prodigy of Rainbow Tower” and now onto this book. So, what did I think of this latest novel? Pull up a seat and allow me to tell you.

First of all, I liked that this book did not immediately run rampant with the main hero of the story, Luke Callindor. To me, this showed that the other characters in this series are capable of holding down the story and making it interesting without needing the hero to always be leading the way. I feel this is crucial to any good fantasy series. The secondary characters must be able to hold their own during action scenes as well as during set up for the rest of the story. Charles Yallowitz has created some vibrant characters that are clearly able to add something all their own to the story with special abilities and unique personalities.

This book was a bit heavy in the dialogue arena for the first few chapters. I wasn’t upset by this, as the reader needed to know what was happening, but I read these books for the intense action sequences and I am always excited and amazed by the way this author handles so many characters performing a multitude of actions and does it smoothly. As the book progressed, it hit a natural stride and the characters really came into their own.

One of the things that impressed me the most about this particular book, was that so much was revealed about the characters through the situations they faced. Rather than simply describing the pasts and the traits of the people and creatures in this story, the author allowed them to be who they are and use actions to tell the reader more about them. I love when there is an opportunity to experience the world and struggles a character faces rather than hear about it second-hand.

If I had to choose a favourite part of this book, it would be the relationship between Trinity and Nyx. It is strained, awkward, unusual, exciting and interesting all at the same time. Whereas there are plenty of novels with female characters that do not get along, this book explores the reasoning behind their feelings in a much different way.

The battle scenes in this novel are excellent, and they are written in an exciting way that kept me engaged with the story. I also appreciate that the author retained his sense of humour throughout this title and used it to brighten some darker passages. The fun that goes along with these stories is one of the main reasons I look forward to them.

Whilst I do love the action sequences, I am also a fan of the relationship building moments the characters have with one another both during battles and in between. There is always trouble just around the corner and these characters seem to have a magnetism that draws it to them. Watching them work to figure out an escape in each situation is always entertaining.

I thought the author did a good job of giving us a reason to want to return to Windemere again, and to keep looking forward to the next release. I was fascinated by the twists that Luke’s story took in this novel and feel like he has become more than a simple character in a story, but rather a friend that I want to keep journeying alongside.

This was a great book and a nice addition to an already exuberant fantasy series. I am looking forward to seeing what the future holds for the career of this author as well as for his cast of lively characters.

View all my reviews

18 thoughts on “Allure of the Gypsies by Charles E. Yallowitz

  1. I’ve read the first book and enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the other two when I have some funds to buy them…unfortunately at the moment the belt is a little tight, or they would be in my library already…

    it’s good to see you up and reviewing again… missed ya… I might have a book for you to review early next year… I am trying to pull some stuff together like cover art and a few people proof reading

    Like

  2. I am excited about this book. I have always had a fondness for both gypsies and orphans. I read the first in the series, enjoyed it and bought the second…now I have to catch up on my reading, so I can get back to Windemere.

    Like

  3. This sounds a great read. I have not got to this book yet, or the previous part, but they are on my list, and have just moved up a ways. I like your points about the strength of the secondary characters being able to hold the attention and carry the story. I also like that actions are used to allow us to learn about the characters, rather than just being told. Actions speak louder than words, as they say – whoever they are. Great review of what sounds like a great installment in the ‘Legends of Windemere’ series.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Papi Talk!… With Charles Yallowitz 2014 | The Literary Syndicate

Talk to me!

