The Governess of Highland Hall

The Governess Of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, #1)The Governess Of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

Worlds lie between the marketplaces of India and the halls of a magnificent country estate like Highland Hall. Will Julia be able to find her place when a governess is neither upstairs family nor downstairs help?
 
Missionary Julia Foster loves working alongside her parents, ministering and caring for young girls in India. But when the family must return to England due to illness, she readily accepts the burden for her parents’ financial support. Taking on a job at Highland Hall as governess, she quickly finds that teaching her four privileged, ill-mannered charges at a grand estate is more challenging than expected, and she isn’t sure what to make of the estate’s preoccupied master, Sir William Ramsey.
 
Widowed and left to care for his two young children and his deceased cousin Randolph’s two teenage girls, William is consumed with saving the estate from the financial ruin. The last thing he needs is any distraction coming from the kindhearted-yet-determined governess who seems to be quietly transforming his household with her persuasive personality, vibrant prayer life, and strong faith.
 
While both are tending past wounds and guarding fragile secrets, Julia and William are determined to do what it takes to save their families—common ground that proves fertile for unexpected feelings. But will William choose Julia’s steadfast heart and faith over the wealth and power he needs to secure Highland Hall’s future?

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t honestly sure what to think of this book for about the first third or so. As the story progressed, I began to develop more of an attachment to Julia Foster. She is a strong character with a good personality and she gives the reader plenty of reasons to want to keep turning pages. I liked her varied background and the fact that she could think for herself and make decisions on her own.

Generally speaking, I do not take issue with inspirational titles. I will say, however, that if you are not particularly religious, the constant references to prayer and belief in this book might not be your cup of tea. Even for me, who is usually pretty patient with such things, there were times when I felt it was a bit much for my liking.

I am basing this review off of the love story, the historical value and the overall enjoyment I got from the story, setting aside the religious evaluations for someone who has a better basis to pass such judgments, as I am not affiliated with any particular religion.

I gave this book four stars because in the end, the love story was rather captivating. I liked the way the characters met, I enjoyed their strained courtship and liked the way they responded to one another. It wasn’t exactly what I expected, which is always a plus.

The historical value was not exactly what I had figured it might be, things were more mentioned in passing than actually described, but the setting(s) were still nice and added to the story.

I rather liked that the author did not spend hours devoting paragraphs to the differences in social class in this book. It was nice to see that for a change, people could be people without titles getting in the way.

In the end, this was a good story with a strong foundation. If you like historical Christian novels, this is one that you might consider. The romance was well paced, and the novel was different than others I have read in this genre.

This review is based on a review copy from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers. My opinions and thoughts are my own.

8 thoughts on “The Governess of Highland Hall

  1. I also tend to find that the overuse of religion in a novel can be a bit wearing if the reader is not that way inclined. I also agree that refraining from passing too much judgement of a book as a whole based upon one aspect of it is important as a reviewer. Too many reviewers are happy to blast a book based purely upon one thing that they are not comfortable with or disagree with. It is good to find a reviewer that retains a certain neutrality and can present an unbiased opinion.

    Like

Talk to me!

