The Day She Died by Catriona McPherson

The Day She Died: A NovelThe Day She Died: A Novel by Catriona McPherson

A riveting new mystery from the author of the critically acclaimed Dandy Gilver series

Jessie Constable is a survivor. She holds it together with her job and a couple friends, making sure her dreams and fears are hidden deep inside her. She’s learned not to look for much more until Gus King appears and turns her careful life upside down. Gus’s wife has committed suicide, and his kids need Jessie. But who is the ragged stranger she sees from the corner of her eye? Why are men she doesn’t know threatening her? She wants to believe she can work it all out and make a happy ending. But a girl who’s been burned as much as Jessie should know that things that seem too good to be true often are.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I first began reading this book, I wondered what in the world was going on in it. The first few pages didn’t offer much in the way of explanation and I was a bit confused. As it progressed, I came to understand where the author was going with it, and really felt a sense of the story pulling together nicely.

This is an interesting book. The pace is not fast and at times I found the decisions of the main character a bit aggravating. The way she ingratiated herself into the lives of the family this story features made me stop and wonder who would do the things she was doing, but at the same time, made me respect her for giving so much of herself to a family she barely knew.

The author did a very good job of showing the emotions of her characters in this novel. I could feel the anger, confusion, hope and determination throughout. I particularly enjoyed the parts of the book that featured interactions between the main character and the children who had been left behind.

The setting was lovely and described in such a manner that it was easy for me to look back and recall my own dealings with the territory.

Overall, this was a very entertaining and highly thoughtful novel that kept me wanting to turn the next page. I would recommend this to those who enjoy a more emotional/psychological novel.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher and provided through Netgalley.

5 thoughts on “The Day She Died by Catriona McPherson

  1. I like the sound of this. Sometimes we have our life all mapped out, the things we do because we have to to survive, and then something comes along and changes all of that. I guess this is what distinguishes living from mere existence, the changes and growth, letting others in and needing them.

    Like

  2. The book description seems like it is very different from the review. Did it read different? I like your review and it would make me want to read the book. The book description seems like it is going in an entirely different direction. Is it a riveting mystery novel, or a love/family story? Am I just confused because it is nearly 1 am ET and I have had a long day?

    Like

Talk to me!

