The Dawning by Judy Griffith Gill

The Dawning The Dawning by Judy Griffith Gill

This review is posted as  part of the Retro Reads Program through Open Road Media.

Find out more about the fun program here: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/100449-retro-reads—romance
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a difficult book for me to judge. In the beginning I found myself a little confused by who everyone was, especially the various organisations of people. The book has a relatively slow start. There are a few interesting happenings early on, but the events are not fleshed out until you are well into the story.

Because of the heavy back story revolving around the lives of the two main characters, there were times when I wondered whether this was a standalone book or if I had accidentally happened into the middle of a story.

I liked that romance was not the main focus of this book. I thought the character’s determination to succeed and make a life for themselves as the focal point of the story was more important than strictly exploring the nature of their relationship.

There were some unexpected surprises along the way, a few mysteries that unraveled slowly and carefully and a plot that never wavered from the point of the story. The author used a lot of vibrant descriptions and kept the intensity of the character’s goals moving progressively.

The original book was released in 2012 so it still fit pretty well with today’s world and that never became an issue. I think fans of the genre will appreciate both the technical and emotional aspects of this Dystopian tale.

Overall, this was an interesting book that was outside my normal comfort zone but kept me entertained and made me think. I enjoyed some aspects more than others.

This review is based on a digital ARC provided by the publisher as part of the Retro Reads Program. All opinions are my own.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The Dawning by Judy Griffith Gill

  1. Pingback: Ionia’s Reading Corner « Green Embers Recommends

Talk to me!

