Missing You by Harlan Coben

Missing YouMissing You by Harlan Coben

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Coming off the heels of “Six Years,” Which I absolutely loved, I was really hoping that this thriller would be just as good.

Harlan Coben is a fantastic author, there is no doubt about that, so I had high expectations for this book. For the first third or so of the story, I wasn’t positive that I was going to love this. The story starts out well enough, but is so focused on the main character and her own wants and desires that it was hard for me to see how this was going to form into a complex thriller.

As the story progressed the plot thickened and there were multiple angles being worked at the same time. The characters were well written and each had a defined purpose in the story, even the ones that at first glance didn’t really seem to be important.

There were a few things I thought were a bit too convenient (everyone seemed to be a computer genius) but for the most part I found this story easily digestible. The last few chapters of the book were very edgy and tense and the kind of writing that makes you grip the book in terror for the heroes.

This author is good at creating tense situations for his characters and making the reader want to keep turning pages. This book was no exception. I enjoyed getting to know Kat and trying to anticipate what her next move would be. Although there were times during the latter half of this book that I wondered about the things she did (would an officer really do that?)she was a character that I formed a bond with and wanted to see prevail in the end.

Even in the last few pages, the story was still taking unexpected turns. If you are a fan of Harlan Coben or just a good mystery/thriller, this is a book you will not want to miss out on.

7 thoughts on “Missing You by Harlan Coben

  1. I might be the only one around who has never read a Harlan Coben book. Maybe I’ll try this once summer rolls around. I’m always on the lookout for a good beach read.

    Like

Talk to me!

