The Pity Cry (A rant because I wanted to)

What do you think of when you think of book reviewers?

Do you think of someone who has a life and a lot of responsibilities just as you have? We hear a lot about authors trying to juggle children and work responsibilities as well as the stress of keeping up with writing, marketing and so forth. Last night it occurred to me that I see a lot of posts about authors, but not too many posts that just feature reviewers. Why is this?

Have we forgotten that reviewers are an integral part of author success and how valuable an honest review can be to our careers as authors? This is not a distress cry from β†’this reviewer.← Rather, this is an honest question.

Does the value of the person we are dealing with get diminished by our own busy schedule? I can’t say that I am any different. When I am trying to find promo opportunities I don’t sit back and think about what someone else might have to do that week, that month, the day I choose them to make me look good. I think we all see people as numbers when it comes to sales and marketing. Still, occasionally I am reminded from my own busy schedule and the impatience of people, that I am only one person. Most reviewers have more books at any given time than the average person reads in a year. We do the best we can to get to them in some sensible order, occasionally rearranging things to where we can review a certain book by a specific date or taking a shorter book and putting it to the front of the line because we just got done with a very long one.

Being a reviewer is not thankless, and I am not saying that it is. I enjoy interacting with authors and yes, we tend to get a lot of books that we don’t have to pay for with money. What I would like to point out is that we do pay for these books in another way. We pay for them with our time and some hard consideration when it comes time to review. It takes time to read a book and keep up with daily life on top of it. We don’t make money off of this. It is a game of free time vs. the real world. We have to work too.

We are authors. We are business people. We are parents. We are reviewers. We have a life just like everyone else.

Hug a reviewer today.

And this ends my little rant.

Hug line forms to the left.

47 thoughts on “The Pity Cry (A rant because I wanted to)

  1. (((((HUGS))))) This is a great rant, Ionia! I’ve always been in awe of how you juggle raising your boys, working, blogging, fighting, and living life. On top of the you took the time out of your schedule to help me out with Vanilla. As far as I’m concerned, you are top notch as reviewer, but especially as a person!!

    Like

  2. {{{{HUGS}}}} When I first published, I thought of reviewers as people who liked to read. Now I know that they read volumes and and juggle tremendous loads of books and life. Regardless of what else the reader does, if I know a reader is reading my book, I deliberately tell them not to rush, and I mean it. As an author, you want your reviewer fresh and relaxed to be able to enjoy the reading experience.

    valid point about the free resource. Honestly. It is a lot of work effort to not be paid. I know that Amazon and others frown on paid reviews. But it does sort of make you wonder how fair that is.

    Like

  3. I think this is a perfectly reasonable rant. It is all to easy to not consider the life and schedules of others. It is the way of the ‘I want it, and I want it now. I am entitled to anything I want’ kind of mindset that so may people have. I will bring the real hugs with me on Saturday, but there are many virtual ones for you here now.

    Like

  4. Hug, hug, hug. Sigh. Now, where’s my damn review?! Just kidding. You are most deserving of hugs. Your support for us writers is invaluable and needs more appreciation. Hug, hug, hug.

    Like

  5. Honestly I think reviewers have it tough. Not only are they (and you) juggling life they are reading book after book on a schedule and then have to write about it. Each reviewer is an author in their own right and I think sometimes are taken for granted.

    Like

  6. Hugs. You are not alone. πŸ˜‰ A reviewer friend of mine chats with me daily about being overworked and underpaid (she reviews for free), but she continues for the love of reading. She has the good grace to sulk in private, which is likely because she has nothing to gain from a public plea for sympathy. That’s my only explanation. But just know that she’s feeling the pressure too. ❀

    Like

  7. Do authors really take reviewers for granted like that? I guess some might think of it as the Mighty Writer bestowing the free gift of their genius on the eager reader, but I can’t see it that way. Actually, I’m scared to approach anyone about reviewing. Asking a person to spend hours of their time to not only read, but also review a book is a huge thing, and book reviewers (usually) do it for free. It’s a gift to the reading community, and to the writers.

    I know I don’t have the time or the fortitude to read and review as much as I’d like. Hugs to you, and to all the reviewers who do it for love. πŸ™‚

    Like

Talk to me!

