Jane’s Melody by Ryan Winfield

Jane's Melody (Jane's Melody, #1)Jane’s Melody by Ryan Winfield

New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller–

What boundaries would you cross for true love?

That’s the question a grieving mother must answer when she takes in a young street musician she believes can shed light on her daughter’s death—only to find herself falling for him. A sexy but touching love story that will leave you both tantalized and in tears, Jane’s Melody follows a forty-year-old woman on a romantic journey of rediscovery after years of struggling alone.

Sometimes our greatest gifts come from our greatest pain. And now Jane must decide if it’s too late for her to start over, or if true love really knows no limits.

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I really wasn’t sure what to think of this book, honestly. I spent a couple of days thinking about it and how it affected me before I decided to write this review.

This novel has moments that will make you laugh out loud, make you cry and make you stop and think, which to me are the hallmarks of an excellent book. Still, there were times when I felt the characters were needy, selfish and a bit juvenile. The reactions to certain situations caught me off guard and made me wonder if they would have really behaved that way or not.

Caleb was a man of the house one minute and a quivering emotional mess the next. We never really find out all that much about his life before Jane and that made me wonder how he got to be who he was.

The love story in this book is displayed in an affectionate, yet highly sexual way. The love scenes are quite intense and dramatic and very frequent toward the middle of the book, so if you like spicy sex scenes this one will fit the bill.

Overall, this is a strange book to have to classify. Part of the time I thought it was utter brilliance, and the rest of the time I thought it was okay. I did very much enjoy the way Jane grew throughout the story.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided by Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “Jane’s Melody by Ryan Winfield

Talk to me!

