The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell

The Shadow Year

This is the Shereads.org monthly selection. If you haven’t heard about shereads and and all the wonderful things they do for women’s literacy, please take a moment and check them out.

The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First of all, I would like to say that this is a beautifully written book and the issues I had with it were nothing to do with the word choices or quality of the writing, but rather the delivery of the story.

This book is written coming from two different perspectives in two different time periods. It wasn’t that it was difficult to distinguish which section I was in, but rather that I enjoyed one portion of the book far more than another. I found myself skimming through some sections to get to other parts that I found more interesting.

What I liked about this book was the tone the author used and the way she linked the past and the present together in the end. The characters were believable and were a good mix of personalities that worked well off one another.

The descriptions were beautiful and the sense of time and place the author gave this novel was wonderfully done. I wished at times that I could be in the places she described.

Overall I didn’t think this was a bad book at all, just a bit slower in places than I would have liked. If you like complex stories with interesting characters and a good dose of mystery, this will likely please you.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through Shereads.org. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell

Talk to me!

