You by Caroline Kepnes

YouYou by Caroline Kepnes

Love hurts…

When aspiring writer Guinevere Beck strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe works, he’s instantly smitten. Beck is everything Joe has ever wanted: She’s gorgeous, tough, razor-smart, and as sexy as his wildest dreams.

Beck doesn’t know it yet, but she’s perfect for him, and soon she can’t resist her feelings for a guy who seems custom made for her. But there’s more to Joe than Beck realizes, and much more to Beck than her oh-so-perfect façade. Their mutual obsession quickly spirals into a whirlwind of deadly consequences . . .

A chilling account of unrelenting passion, Caroline Kepnes’s You is a perversely romantic thriller that’s more dangerously clever than any you’ve read before.

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

If you like books that go for shock value with the reader, then you will surely be all in with this quickly evolving and yet, somewhat strange novel.

This novel is written in second person and that was a bit of a change. I haven’t read many books written in that style that I found appealing, and although I think it worked to get inside the mind of the main character in this story, it was still a bit of a struggle for me.

To be honest, I’m still not sure what to think about this book. The intellect of the author gleams brightly in her writing, with her ability to cite rare literature and create characters that really stand out from the crowd, but truly, I didn’t like any of the characters in this book. I feel like there needs to be a hero, or at least some type of protagonist that you feel you can somewhat support in order to care what happens in a story. I couldn’t find anyone I wanted to support.

Without giving too much away, I couldn’t decide in this book who the villain was. Both of the main characters have rather annoying personalities and both of them seem like a threat to the world at large. I like quirky characters, but these two were over the top.

What I did like about this book was the often funny moments of self absorption in the main character and the way he displayed his neurotic tendencies. If you are going to read a book where the main character is less than loveable, then it is a good thing if the author gives you clear reasons to dislike them. At least I didn’t have to spend time wondering if I was supposed to like him, as the author’s intent was relatively clear on that point.

Overall, this was different. I’m sure there will be a lot of people who love it, but I found myself somewhere in the middle. I appreciated that it wasn’t like every other book out there, but I’m still not sure the brash attitude of the characters and the second person perspective worked for me.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Talk to me!

