The Hawley Book of the Dead by Chrysler Szarlan

The Hawley Book of the Dead: A NovelThe Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel by Chrysler Szarlan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had some really high expectations for this book after reading the blurb and looking at the intriguing cover. In some ways I feel those expectations were met, but in others I feel a little let down. Let me explain:

The first few chapters of this book have a lot happening in them, but there wasn’t much progression. That might not make a lot of sense, but that was how I felt about it. I was hoping that the book would continue to be very exciting and would hold my attention, but it seems to go through phases. After the leave from Nevada the book gets considerably more magical and exciting, but it does drop off again at different points throughout the story.

What I did like about this story was the original qualities of the magic. The author did a beautiful job crafting her characters. She gave them unique abilities, minds of their own and the emotional maturity that one wants to see in well rounded characters. The back story was handled well and didn’t bore me.

This story was beautifully written, although sometimes I felt like the pace just didn’t do it justice. I would still recommend this book to those who like mysterious, family based stories. I didn’t think it was a bad book and would be happy to check out future work from this author.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

5 thoughts on “The Hawley Book of the Dead by Chrysler Szarlan

  1. I am intrigued by the ‘original qualities of the magic’. So many books that revolve around magic seem to follow very formulaic paths when treating the use of magic. Something different regarding this sounds a definite plus point.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

