Lolita in the Lion’s Den by Justin Forest

Lolita in the Lion's Den or Pre-Tween JuxtapositionLolita in the Lion’s Den or Pre-Tween Juxtaposition by Justin Forest

A troubled young man must find a way to navigate his hypersexualized world in Justin Forest’s riveting new novel, Lolita in the Lion’s Den or Pre-Tween Juxtaposition.

Glen has always been an outcast. Born into an emotionally abusive household, where his mother relies on him as her only confidante and his father is a child molester, his sense of self-hatred only fuels the isolation he experiences both at home and at school.

Finding relief from the harsh realities of the world through increasingly vivid fantasies, Glen has finally had enough.

Quitting school and fleeing home, he drifts from one aimless job to the next as he wrestles with this attraction to both women and girls.

Fearing he will one day become like his father, Glen must come to terms with the person he truly is in order to learn how to become the person he wants to be.

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 stars.

I like books that make other people squirm. I’m still trying to find one that can make me uncomfortable.

So, since I am the odd variety of reader that reads a little bit of everything, I found this interesting. I did a review on a book called “Perv” earlier in the year that I found rather fascinating and this book even mentioned that book, so automatically I wanted to read more.

When you first get into this book, you really aren’t sure if you are reading fiction or part-fiction or non-fiction. It is a strange sort of book that will make some people angry early on and turn them off from finishing it through brutally honest language and the sort of realism that many do not wish to face. Others, myself included, will find it daring and bold and congratulate the author for not holding back. I don’t have to agree with the author to find value in a book, and this book, fiction or otherwise is all about reality.

This is not the kind of book that I would recommend to everyone I know. It isn’t an enjoyable afternoon read or a fun romp into the imagination of a creative author. It is a disturbing, at times difficult to read book with an important message–anything can happen at any time and the experiences of childhood can create lingering issues in adulthood.

Overall, this was interesting and I was glad I read it. If you are looking for something different, and you can handle a bit of harshness, then this would be a good choice.

This review is based on a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Lolita in the Lion’s Den by Justin Forest

  1. This sounds really interesting. I like books that are a bit different, and especially ones that do not hold back. I have always found it interesting too how childhood experiences can influence us in later life, whether consciously or not.

    Like

Talk to me!

