Sleepy Hollow: Children of the Revolution

Sleepy Hollow: Children of the RevolutionSleepy Hollow: Children of the Revolution by Keith R.A. DeCandido

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Whilst I enjoyed the interaction between Crane and Abby just as I do in the television series, this book really didn’t do the excitement and adventure of the series justice, in my opinion. Rarely do I see a novelisation that I feel is as good as the original thing that it was based on, but I will give this credit–it wasn’t horrible as many of them are.

The story itself was interesting and for any author to be able to come into something that already exists and give it a new lease, especially one that makes sense and stays in keeping with the personality of the characters is quite impressive.

This book has the same type of humour and good-natured sarcasm as the show does, and it was easy to see the personalities of favourite characters shining in these pages. What I didn’t love, was the story itself. For a book of standard length, there just wasn’t enough excitement for me. The use of fictional as well as historical elements was interesting, but there were just times I felt this book was lagging. Had this been a TV episode that was over in an hour–maybe, but for a book–not so much.

I didn’t think it was terrible, but it wasn’t as intriguing as the show.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the blogging for books program, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. All opinions are my own.

7 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow: Children of the Revolution

  1. This brings up an interesting question. We always hear how a movie or show based in a book is missing something in the translation. Almost like a spark has been lost or altered. Does this go for the opposite too or is the tv/movie jump easier to make?

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

