Apple Girl

I was invited by Ionia to post a review blog on the new Apple Watch. I know it isn’t exactly something you read, but it is product review so please bear with me.

First of all, my disclaimer is that I’m an Apple girl. I haven’t always been an Apple girl, but once I, uh, took a bite of the apple (sorry, I couldn’t resist), I was hooked. And Apple continues to make better and better products all the time.

So, when they announced the Apple Watch, I knew I had to have one. Pre-orders were at 12:01 Pacific time which is an ungodly time Eastern time, but, hey, I wanted one. They were selling quickly because my first band choice was already backordered an hour after pre-orders started. So rather than wait, I opted for my second choice.

It arrived exactly on the first available date and I could hardly contain my excitement. Of course, I first had to contain my impatience as I waited for UPS to show up. I worked from home so I wouldn’t miss it. The tracking information said it would be here by 3 pm. Naturally, it arrived at 2:50 pm. It felt like a really long wait.

Now, keep in mind, I didn’t have the opportunity to see the watch in person, hadn’t tried it on and had only seen the same ads you all saw. But from the day they announced watch details, I have been carrying a paper template that was the size of the watch. I have small wrists and I was worried that it would be too big and feel clunky. So, my watch has arrived and I tore open the packaging to reveal and most elegant looking white case containing my watch. It already had the small band attached so it was ready for me to wear. Plus it had a 64% charge so I could play with it right away. And the watch is a perfect size for me. I got the smaller of the two sizes available.

And play I did! I explored, pushed buttons, turned the digital crown, arranged apps and checked out all the screens. What really happened is that I fell in love.

First full day of use though gave me a real opportunity to see what it could do.

7:30 am – I took it off the charging magnet and on my wrist. By 8:00 am I was using the GPS/Map function to guide me on a 3 hour trip. You may think that the screen is too small to see anything – you would be wrong. It is perfect. The background is black and that makes all the lettering stand out. The GPS function alerted me with a discreet sound and vibration when it was time to make a turn. In between, I was alerted to text messages and could quickly glance to see who it was from. I was driving so I didn’t do any replies other than the pre-programmed replies. But when I stopped I could reply from my watch by using the talk to text feature. I was also able to check my emails (a couple of lines along with the sender are provided). I could either delete them or save them for later.

I also used Siri – a lot. I swear someone somewhere is laughing at me because I ask Siri for some crazy things.

I would say that I gave the watch a pretty heavy work out throughout the day. I was little nervous about not having a charger with me since I’ve heard that battery life is the biggest obstacle. I used GPS for the 3 hour return trip too. So, lots of messaging, checking the weather, using Siri, GPS for 6 hours, and reading emails. I was finally notified that I was down to 10% power remaining at 10:30 pm. That is only 15 hours – I had heard it was supposed to last for 18 hours. But, again, I gave it a pretty heavy workout. Battery life is mobile anything’s biggest challenge. I wasn’t unhappy though. It got me through my day – and, remember, I still have my iPhone to fall back on.

I think there will be an explosion of apps that are released in the coming weeks/months for Apple watch and I look forward to finding new ways to use it. I heard that one hotel has already released an app that will let you check in and unlock your door. I’m geeky enough that new technology excites me. Plus using Apple Pay with my watch is uber-convenient. Controlling my iTunes music is awesome (or even Pandora) – I wish Spotify had an app though.

I think everyone should have an Apple watch – but then I think you would all be happier with a Mac, an iPhone, and an iPad!

15 thoughts on “Apple Girl

    • Just like Dick Tracy (for those of you who are as old as me). Seriously though, yes, it makes and receives phone calls by using a blue tooth headset. I rarely talk on my phone so that isn’t a thing for me to think about.

      Oh, and you can listen to a playlist from your iTunes library even if you aren’t near your phone but I noticed today that it really chews through the battery life if you do that. Someday (hopefully in my lifetime) they will figure out the battery issues with all of mobile.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am so impressed Pam. You are the only person I know who has one!! You are so “cool” to own all things Apple. I agree that their products are pretty awesome. I am just getting used to a Fitbit on my wrist, I guess I could get used to an Apple Watch. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review Pamela! And thanks for asking her to review it, Ionia :). I want to be like Pamela!! Now I really want one these darn watches. I should have bought stock in Apple when I had a chance šŸ™‚

    Like

Talk to me!

