Something I rarely ever do

I gave up on a book. Shocking, I know. Maybe it was the silly connection used to link the MC to Bridget Bishop of the Salem trials. Maybe it was just too many words used to describe too little importance. Either way–here’s what I thought.

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy, #1)A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

Debut novelist Deborah Harkness has crafted a mesmerizing and addictive read, equal parts history and magic, romance and suspense. Diana is a bold heroine who meets her equal in vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, and gradually warms up to him as their alliance deepens into an intimacy that violates age-old taboos. This smart, sophisticated story harks back to the novels of Anne Rice, but it is as contemporary and sensual as the Twilight series-with an extra serving of historical realism.

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

*review may contain minor spoilers*

So, I apologise if this review makes me come off sounding like a giant Ashmole, but I have to be honest–this book nearly bored me to tears. I gave it the old college try. Really, I kept going even after I thought I couldn’t take another minute of it, but in the end, I had to give up before I finished it. I made it over 200 pages in.

I can sum it up rather quickly. It reminded me of Twilight for adults, with a bit more science thrown in.

Oxford and library described in extreme detail.

The characters eat, with vivid description of the contents of each meal. They drink many different wines. They go to Yoga.

In the following chapters, the characters eat. They drink lots of wine. They go to Yoga.

The Vampire likes watching the witch sleep.

The vampire is afraid he will hurt his love interest.

Wine.

Yoga.

Food.

Vampire hunts deer rather than humans.

I can’t handle it anymore. Utmost respect for those who found this book exciting and loved it. I was not one of those people.

I wanted to like it. I failed.

Not one I can recommend.

24 thoughts on “Something I rarely ever do

  1. We’re on the exact same page as you (pun intended). Maria (the MRS of MRSRAG) and I both gave this one a shot with identical results. Couldn’t do it. Excruciatingly boring. You made it further than I did, so I commend you on lasting 200 pages. It has only happened to me a few times out of few thousand books, not being able to finish. The last time before “ADoW” was “The Crimson Petal and the White.” Similarly brutal. Anyway, just wanted you to know you aren’t alone in your opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! The positive reviews are really convincing. That’s how I ended up with this series, but I just don’t get it. Thanks for making me gel better. I thought I might be just about the only one who didn’t love it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haaaaa-absolutely right. Believe it or not I finished the book. I noticed the pattern after two turns and realised, as with the first twilight book, for completeness sake I would read it all… with contempt. I would graffiti pages with multiple ‘wtf’s and ‘ffs’s then give it to a charity shop to sell on. Why? To be able to argue the point with those that enjoy it and have the self righteousness of “I read the whole thing; I know what I am talking about.”

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

