Love in a Small Town by Curtiss Ann Matlock

image

Mollie and Tommie Lee have been married for twenty-five years. They grew up in Valentine, Oklahoma, and were sweethearts from the get-go. But something is missing in their marriage, and Mollie can’t bear to stay where she doesn’t feel loved. Tommy Lee is confused and hurt and angry when she leaves for the refuge of Aunt Hestie’s empty cottage, but he has complaints of his own. In her unique voice, Curtiss Ann Matlock uncovers the heart of their story—their passion and promise, their hopes and dreams.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If you are at all familiar with the work of this author, then you know that she writes at the deepest level of human emotion. Her characters do not have to be rich or famous to make you like them, and that is exactly what I loved about this novel.

This book is about people who are easy to relate to, because they are so much like the rest of us. If you have been or are currently married, then you will find yourself nodding in agreement with the situations in this book. All marriages have trouble at some point, and Curtiss Ann Matlock brought this fact to attention in “Love in a Small Town,” without using the basic formula of shocking event causes split.

I loved that the chapters were headed with song titles and that the main character seemed to pluck the thoughts right out of my head as I was reading. This author has a rare talent for being able to find her way inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Molly, the main character is such a sweet person and you can’t help but feel the same things she does as you read along. I wanted so much to fix things for her.

Another reason I loved this book was the way the author made the rest of the family and friends truly important to the story. Rather than feeling like there are other names in the book just because the author realised they couldn’t successfully pull off a book with just one or two characters, the author really managed to give me a sense that these people were integral to the story. Each of them have their own charms and quirks and make you laugh, or cry, or relate to them in some way.

Above all, this is a beautiful love story about aging, changing, life and marital/family relationships and what it means to make a promise of forever. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful read–any time of the year.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Love in a Small Town by Curtiss Ann Matlock

    • I’ve got to tell you, I found it greatly coincidental that for a couple of days before the book arrived, I had “you don’t even know who I am” stuck in my head to the point of distraction. I was singing it in the shower, humming it in the grocery store and when I picked up the book I got a good giggle out of your main character singing it too. 🙂 wonderful book.

      Like

Talk to me!

