The Earl Claims a Bride by Amelia Grey

Harrison Thornwick thought he was safe. The fourth son to the Earl of Thornwick, there was no reason he couldn’t lounge his life away, drinking and carousing in the notorious Heirs’ Club. But when the sudden deaths of his father and brothers leave Harrison holding the bag, he needs a wife in haste, unless he’s to defy the rule of the prince. Unluckily for Harrison, the prince has an entirely different rule for him—his wife-to-be, Miss Angelina Rule. But when he sees the lady in the flesh, Harrison finds her too beautiful and fascinating to resist…Princely command or not, Angelina has no desire to marry Thornwick. Waiting for her sweetheart to return from the army, she’s not about to be paired up with an Earl—especially with an infamous scoundrel like Harrison. But with Thornwick determined to make her his wife in more ways than one, Angelina will have to put up all her defenses if she is to resist being seduced…

The Earl Claims a Bride (The Heirs' Club of Scoundrels Trilogy, #2)The Earl Claims a Bride by Amelia Grey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Whilst I have seen a lot of books in this genre lately, very few of them have held my interest for long enough to make it past the first few chapters. This book passed the test, and kept me interested throughout.

I liked Harrison and Angelina both, although I admit, at times I wanted to reach into the book and shake Angelina for her silliness. These two characters had good chemistry with one another and I enjoyed the rivalry between them.

Amelia Grey is good with descriptions and makes it easy for the reader to envision the world of her characters. I found myself right there in the scene with them, which as I have grown older and read an ever increasing pile of books, these things matter to me more than they once did.

Overall, I liked this book a lot and would recommend it to others.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “The Earl Claims a Bride by Amelia Grey

  1. I think that it is great when you find a book that you can truly immerse yourself into the world of. It is also very interesting that you talk of how different things matter more or less as we age. I believe that reading habits definitely go through different stages. I know that I had real problems reading certain authors, well one really, Thomas Hardy, when I was younger but enjoyed his work when I returned to it many years later.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

