Mrs. Sinclair’s Suitcase by Louise Walters

Mrs. Sinclair's SuitcaseMrs. Sinclair’s Suitcase by Louise Walters

Forgive me, Dorothea, for I cannot forgive you. What you do, to this child, to this child’s mother, it is wrong…

Roberta likes to collect the letters and postcards she finds in second-hand books. When her father gives her some of her grandmother’s belongings, she finds a baffling letter from the grandfather she never knew – dated after he supposedly died in the war.

Dorothy is unhappily married to Albert, who is away at war. When an aeroplane crashes in the field behind her house she meets Squadron Leader Jan Pietrykowski, and as their bond deepens she dares to hope she might find happiness. But fate has other plans for them both, and soon she is hiding a secret so momentous that its shockwaves will touch her granddaughter many years later…

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow! Not just wow, but WOW!

This is a beautiful book. This is the kind of novel that you can fully lose yourself in and not look back until the very last page. Louise Walters is amazing, and so is this book.

I could not put this story down and when I did, I missed the characters and wanted to come back. This novel worked its way into my heart and made me feel like the characters were people I knew and loved. The writing is incredible. The sentence structure has a flow that draws you into the story and each character has their own way of thinking and speaking during the dialogue sections.

Dorothy was so easy to love and my heart broke for her at different points in this book. She was a character that I literally could not help but love. I felt the same way about Roberta. These two women are so alive through the words of this author that I felt I had known them forever.

It’s hard to find a book where the secondary characters are fulfilling and make you wonder about their lives when the story is done, but Ms. Walters has done it.

Rarely do I dread seeing the last page of a book arrive–in fact, usually I’m excited to get to the end. These are some big shoes to fill, what in the world am I going to read after this?

Recommended 100% for those who love to fall in love with their book characters.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Sinclair’s Suitcase by Louise Walters

Talk to me!

