Murder at Malenfer by Iain McChesney

Murder at MalenferMurder at Malenfer by Iain McChesney
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Those in line to the Malenfer estate are succumbing to terrible ends – but is it a supernatural legacy at work, or something entirely more human and evil?

Young Irish mercenary Dermot Ward headed to Paris at the close of World War I, where he drinks to forget his experiences, especially the death of his comrade, Arthur Malenfer. But Arthur has not forgotten Dermot. Dead but not departed, Arthur has unfinished business and needs the help of the living.

Upon his arrival at Malenfer Manor, Dermot finds himself embroiled in a mystery of murder, succession, and ambition. Dermot falls in love with the youngest Malenfer, the beautiful fey Simonne, but in his way are Simonne’s mismatched fiancé, her own connections to the spirit world, Dermot’s overwhelming guilt over the circumstances of Arthur’s death … and the curse.

***Note: This book was previously published under the title “The Curse of Malenfer Manor”.***

My review:

** I didn’t realise when I picked this book up through Netgalley that it was a book I had already read–curse of the faithful reader. But I wanted to make a quick note here, before the review I had written previously–that I read it again, and enjoyed it again, perhaps even more than the first time. This is a book that has so much to offer, and I decided after consideration, that I am amending my 4 star review to a 5 star. If I can read it a second time and still feel wonder–it deserves all 5 stars. Highly recommended.

It may seem strange, but sometimes the most complicated books are worthy of the shortest reviews. This is a book that it is hard to review without giving away something that would be better discovered by the reader, so this will be pretty basic in an attempt not to give away anything crucial.

I liked this book for a variety of reasons. It was more than just the average “ghost story” or paranormal book. This is a complex tale that weaves together the past and the (then) present. It involves many characters and histories. I was thoroughly impressed that the author managed to tell such a complicated story while making everything make sense to the reader and never faltering with plot holes.

The atmosphere of this novel borders on Gothic and has a certain dark quality that fit perfectly with the story. One thing that made this book really stand out for me was the way the characters were introduced. I had a sense that I knew each one personally. This is a difficult thing for a lot of authors to accomplish.

I didn’t see the ending of this book playing out the way it did and that was important to me. I love when you get a surprise at the end and things don’t go as you would expect them to.

The questions were all answered, the plot tied up nicely and there were no loose ends at the finish. This is a truly excellent book.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher and provided by Netgalley.

One thought on “Murder at Malenfer by Iain McChesney

  1. Reading the little synopsis made me think of the game Undying, which was written by Clive Barker. I wonder if that had any effect on the book. I might have to look into this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

