Murder at Redwood Cove by Janet Finsilver

Murder at Redwood CoveMurder at Redwood Cove by Janet Finsilver
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bed, breakfast…and a body!

If it weren’t for the fact that she’s replacing a dead man, Kelly Jackson would love her new job managing the Redwood Cove Bed and Breakfast on the coast of Northern California. But Bob Phillips did plunge off the cliff to his death…and Kelly’s starting to think it may not have been an accident. Bob’s retired friends—The “Silver Sentinels”—are also on the case, especially when Kelly is attacked…and another body turns up. Kelly has her hands full with overseeing the B&B’s annual Taste of Chocolate and Wine Festival, but she’s also closing in on the killer…who’s ready to send Kelly on her own permanent vacation…

Ah, this is what the cozy mystery is all about. I really liked this book and am looking forward to continuing on with this series. Kelly Jackson is a spirited main character and I liked her immediately.

If you love the cozy and are looking for a book that will fulfill your desire for a good mystery but doesn’t feel like the plot is filled with overused devices, Janet Finsilver is your girl. I was impressed by her ability to make me care about both the main as well as the secondary characters. Even the dog–okay, especially the dog.

This novel is paced well, and has a good layered mystery to solve. I liked the Silver Sentinels, but wished they had been used for a larger part of the story. I loved their quirky interactions.

This book kept me up most of the night–because I refused to put it down. I’m excited to read more and encourage you to pick up this book and give it a try.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

ionia”>View all my reviews

Talk to me!

