Greythorne by L.M. Merrington

GreythorneGreythorne by L. M. Merrington

How did Lucy Greythorne die?

From the moment Nell Featherstone arrives at Greythorne Manor as a governess to eight-year-old Sophie, she finds herself haunted by the fate of the mistress of the house, and entranced by the child’s father, the enigmatic Professor Nathaniel Greythorne.

When a violent storm reveals Lucy’s body is not in her grave, Nell becomes suspicious about the Professor’s research. But what she discovers in his laboratory will turn all her ideas about life and death, morality and creation on their head.

Enthralled by a man walking a fine line between passion and madness, Nell must make an impossible choice between life, death, and life after death, where any mistake could be her last.

Perfect for fans of Daphne DuMaurier, Susan Hill and Kate Mosse.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First of all–great cover!

This book is written in a traditional, creepy, Gothic style that I have always enjoyed. The author did a good job of setting a remote location where one expects something frightening to happen from the very beginning. I actually thought it had a slight Frankenstein feel to it, and I liked that.

The characters were mysterious and made you want to know more about them, especially the jack-of-all-trades man that worked for the owner of Greythorne.

I turned pages quickly in this book, eager to know what was going to happen next. There were parts of this book that I thought were very original, although I did feel that some spots could have been filled in a bit more.

Overall, this was an enjoyable book with great atmosphere and good dialogue. If you like darker books, this one should satisfy.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Greythorne by L.M. Merrington

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s