Masters of the field by John L. Herberich

Masters of the Field: The Fourth United States Cavalry in the Civil War by John L Herberich
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow! Just wow. I have got a massive collection of Civil War related books, but this is truly the first one I have seen that deals with an individual regiment in such depth.

This book took some serious research and it is obvious whilst reading it that the author really cared about using the actual words of the people involved to tell the story of these important historical events.

Although the author admits to a family history based bias, I didn’t see that he was particularly opinionated one way or the other in most cases, and felt he made an honest effort to tell the truth based on the variety of documents he researched and provided.

This is an exciting book, with a lot of value for anyone interested in this period of history and I cannot recommend it strongly enough. I will definitely be adding this to my personal collection.

Excellent.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher, provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Talk to me!

