This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

This Is Where It EndsThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I really wanted to like this book. It is based on events that could really happen. The blurb sounded interesting and the potential for this seemed unlimited-but for me–and obviously, this is just my opinion, this book fell flat.

First of all, I understand the need in a book like this for the character perspectives to rotate so the reader gets multiple views of what is happening, but in this case, I didn’t feel enough was happening at the beginning to warrant so many POV changes. I was quickly lost in the menial details of the school kids and nearly forgot what the point in the story was before even getting to the action. I almost gave up on it, and I rarely do that.

My main issue with this book, however, was Tyler. If you are going to have a central character that has lost his or her mind–if they are supposedly deeply motivated by revenge, then you need to see why they feel the way they do. I hate hearing the “show don’t tell” thing all the time, but this was a good example. I felt like he wasn’t motivated enough to do something of the extreme measure this book is about. It was hard to imagine it, because I felt we, as an audience didn’t know enough about him to make it viable.

Overall, this will be a book that I think you will either love or dislike. There are a lot of redeeming qualities in it–diversity, word choices, etc. But for me, it wasn’t enough to make it earn a higher star rating.

Read it and see what you think. It’s definitely a good way to start a conversation with other readers.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher, provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

5 thoughts on “This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Talk to me!

