The Little Cottage in the Country

The Little Cottage in the CountryThe Little Cottage in the Country by Lottie Phillips

Escape to the country!

Anna Compton thought that moving to the countryside, leaving London and her past firmly behind her was the perfect solution. Goodbye life of thirty-something, crazed single mum of two, hello country glamour queen, domestic goddess and yummy-mummy extraordinaire.

But her new life at Primrose Cottage isn’t quite what she expected! Very soon she’s chasing pork pies down hills, disguising her shop-bought cakes at the school bake sale – and trying to resist oh-so-handsome Horatio Spencerville, who just so happens to be the Lord of the Manor…

Could moving to the country be the biggest mistake she’s ever made?

A delightfully uplifting romantic comedy to get you in the mood for summer! Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Holly Martin and Tilly Tennant.

-from goodreads

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book started out a bit on the slow side in my opinion and I wasn’t sure what to think at first, but soon it picks up and the comedy ensues as the main character, her children and her friend try to adjust to life in the country.

I liked the boisterous characters in this book because you never really knew what to expect with them next. The main character’s internal thoughts are good for a laugh and a head nod of agreement. I think any woman that has children will be able to easily relate to the struggles depicted in this book. The romance is creative and fun and the side characters really bring the story to life.

If you are looking for a book that has a setting you can really get into where you can use your five senses to explore the worldview of the characters, this is a good book to choose.

Recommended for those who like their romances to be fun and lighthearted.

This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher, provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Advertisements

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s